We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place if looking for sublime steaks!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gaucho Manchester

Gaucho Manchester
Ranked #73 of 2,185 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $87
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Tram stop 10 minute walk away. free local bus from Piccadilly train station drops off 1 minute away. Victoria train station 10 minute walk away.
Description: Gaucho source the finest grass-fed beef in the world from Argentina, along with an offering of many other Argentine specialities which range from Latin American style ceviche to chorizo, Gulf de San Jorge lobster, Patagonian lamb and Argentine gambas to traditional empanadas and fine wine. We also offer the largest wine selection in the world outside of Argentina in our restaurants and guests can buy many of the wines from our wine boutique, Cavas de Gaucho on Swallow Street. With seasonally changing menus served across all of our restaurants, we also offer The Gaucho Lunch menu, either two or three courses, between Monday and Friday.
Millport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent place if looking for sublime steaks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

If you want to have a great succulent steak and a choice if cuts I would recommend Gaucho's Grill in Manchester. They have a comprehensive wine list which is slightly above normal restaurant prices and a separate Super Malbec selection for the connoisseur.

The staff are attentive but not overwhelming.

Expensive but so worth the money !!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thePB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    828
    352
    181
    84
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“WARNING.....AVOID THIS RESTAURANT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Having read all reviews and had friends recommend this restaurant i decided to celebrate a special occasion and book a table. What a huge disappointment. The attitude of the front of house staff was shocking, i get better treatment at the roadside bacon butty wagon.

The table was booked for 9pm, arrived early looking forward to a great time. I was informed on arrival the table was not ready, That is where all comunication with the staff ended. 45mins later and still waiting i asked the front of house staff what was happening, the response was a blank looking face and a shrug of the shoulders. With that explanation we left.

Avoid this restaurant if you are intending to celebrate a special occasion. THEY DON'T CARE!!!!!!!!

Grill on the Alley is a far superior restaurant with excellent service.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“absolutley amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

can't fault the staff were exeptional as was the food and surroundings

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank lws83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Impressive Interior of Epic Proportions - Rawhide!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

We had been recommended Gaucho by someobody who loves their steak. On entering the place on a busy Saturday night the place was alive with atmosphere... We were shown to a seating area where we chose some pre dinner cocktails and perused the extensive menu. We were shown to a table on the upper tier and had a great view of the entire building. The pics on their website are accurate but in reality seems even bigger. The food was excellent, i ordered some ceviche with chilli and lime. We all ordered steaks - of which there are many many sizes and cuts - well beyond the cuts usually on offer. Don't worry your server talks you through everything and brings out the raw versions for you to see and decide. There are also numerous other meat-based choices based on authentic South American presentation. BEWARE if there are any vegetarians in your dining party it's probably not the best choice of eatery as this is a carnivores heaven!. Great experience from start to finish and the final bill with cocktails and wine and 3 courses was very reasonable given the standards of food and the impressive interior. My only very slight criticism was that my medium-rare request came back rather blue, and when asked about our meal, I duly pointed this out that it should have had a few more seconds on the grill, the assistant manager insisted that this was correctly cooked as a medium rare. I didn't argue the toss as it was bloomin lovely anyway, but I was right. We shall return for a another meat feast some time soon!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NinjaRichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect and a breath of fresh air :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Nothing was missing during this experience - greeted at the door, polite and friendly staff, excellent waitress and the food - fantastic.

Well done to the management!!!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nichaqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaucho Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Gaucho Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing