We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service; good night out”
Review of Cafe Istanbul

Cafe Istanbul
Ranked #156 of 2,279 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are proud to be the longest established restaurant in Manchester, serving Turkish and Mediterranean food for over 35 years. Based upon traditional cooking techniques, we delight in serving high quality Turkish cuisine, using only the highest quality ingredients cooked to perfection.
Liverpool, England
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Good food, good service; good night out”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Went to Cafe Istanbul with three girlfriends and had the £19 menu which is good value.
Starters were fresh and tasty with a good mixed platter.
The mains were great with big portions- too big for me, in fact- and really tasty. Not sure how completely authentic it all was but good all the same.
Desserts good too.
Service was friendly and efficient although I felt they pushed a bit hard on the wine.
It was quite busy although not a huge amount of atmosphere, which was a bit odd...
But, overall, good food and service in a nice place and would definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christabelle04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    145
    37
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Really Good”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Not been to this restaurant for years, but decided to visit this week. It's just as good as it ever was. Good food, good surroundings, very good service. In fact, the service was the best we have had in any restaurant for quite some time. Prices very reasonable. Order the mixed grill - it's great!Thoroughly enjoyed our night out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I eat in this restaurant most Friday lunch times when I visit Manchester and over the years never found it wanting .I believe its been in the same ownership over 25 years and he is the longest serving restauranteur in Manchester

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lordhuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome food!!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Have not been here in a while but this place is awesome! Hubby took me here last year and I was so taken with the place and the food- I always want to go back here. We had calamari and salad for appetizer and the mixed grill for dinner- one word- YUM! The food was really tasty (perfectly cooked and seasoned) and the service was excellent (very attentive server)- I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saskin079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Definately one to revisit”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We went on sunday late afternoon and the restaurant was getting busy. The menu is quite comprehensive and varied enough to make it interesting. The staff are very helpful and willing to explain the various dishes to you. Instead of the obvious lamb choice I went for the chicken stuffed with spinach and feta cheese --------more than delicious and cooked to perfection. Definately will go back there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jillmjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Istanbul also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Cafe Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing