We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a pleasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caspian

Caspian
Ranked #1,373 of 2,185 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $2 - $14
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

An excellent eatery for solo, random groups and head to head visits. Superb ambience with delicious food, especially the Caspian Special which has to be the most tender neck of lamb, in Caspian's trademark tomato ( his mum's recipe) sauce.

I popped in for a regular Kobedeh with rice and ended up doodling on my mac ( wi fi available- just ask) and spending two hours soaking up its fab atmosphere.

Mr Masoud, the owner ( Afghani) has been here 30 years in Rusholme and...
you can tell from it's amazing diversity of customers.

fab place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelBarnesWynters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Average Persian food (especially if you're Persian) and a bit crowded at times. Lots of families come here and groups of loud men so the atmosphere isn't that nice. The owner is friendly though and the starters are better than the kebabs. On the cheaper side, worth it if you don't mind a mediocre kebab.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderingbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best grill in Rusholme”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I have been going to Caspian for some time now and decided to take a trip with a small group of friends. Caspian is mainly Iranian/Persian food and serves a large range of delicious grilled meats and kebabs as well as a number of specials.

We were offered a special mixed grill for £25 for the three of us which consisted of a huge platter of grilled chicken, chello kebab, lamb chops, all served on a bed of fragrant pilau rice and grilled vegetables as well as a deliciously crisp naan bread. It also comes with a bowl of special tomato sauce which is great with the rice.

The food is amazing and we were stuffed at the end. Salad is excellent and the bread was perfect. You can also ask for yoghurt sauce and chilli sauce.

All in all a superb meal which worked out about £8 each which is great value. Caspian is probably my favourite cafe in Rusholme and your first stop for Persisn food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigbrudda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,308 helpful votes
“Great value and superb fresh kebabs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I've been to the Caspian many times and never had anything other than excellent fresh food. The kebabs are freshly cooked to order and served with a choice of nan or rice (both options are good). I have also introduced my children to their kebabs and both of them now actually ask to go to the Caspian if we are in the area.
I always go for the double kobedhi with Nan but I have also tried the chicken tikka and lemon chicken kebabs are also very nice.
Ask for the option of special sauce which can be served 'on the side' in a small bowl. Finally, I have just introduced my wife (who before she went was a little sceptical, but after the visit was raving about the quality and value) and we had a family meal, including soft drinks for four people for £20 Amazing value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Mikeo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Should be your first stop if you've not been to Rusholme before.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Everything here is good.
The kobeda is delicious and the bread lite and crispy.
Good salad and tasty rice.
The Chillo kebab and the Quabili pilau are firm favourites.
Help and friendly staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinnergong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caspian also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Caspian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing