We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rice Bowl

The Rice Bowl
Ranked #53 of 2,246 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“lunch”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Me and a friend went here and enjoyed the very reasonably priced lunch. 2 courses for aprox £7. This also came with complementary prawn crackers and dips and some orange and melon at the end of the meal. It has been more than a few years since I last ate here and I am really pleased to see that the standards have not slipped at all as the food was excellent and it can be difficult to find a Chinese restaurant that does good quality food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magsandstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    763
    328
    88
    38
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
489 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“wow one of the best ever”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

we ate here on a visit to manchester and loved it, the service and the food were amazing, we had a sizzling mixed sharing platter to start and loved it, every dish was cooked to perfection, we did wait a little while for our mains but as the restaurant was busy and everything is cooked fresh we could understand why.
We had a lamb and beef dish with noodles and both we so tasty. we are intending going back to manchester later on in the year and will definately go back to this restaurant when we return

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank scottishtraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Superb meal”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

For years a Chinese meal meant a George street restaurant, but after a few very average lunches and consulting Tripadvisor we headed to the Rice Bowl, which is situated away from the main Chinese quarter. I wish we had found it earlier. I don't know how they do such a superb meal for the price. We started with complimentary prawn crackers and dips followed by hot and sour soup. For mains we had a portion of Singapore noodles and a mixed meat satay, with fried rice. Both dishes were really tasty. A complimentary portion of fresh orange and melon rounded off the meal. All this for £7 95 a head. ! Don't be put off by the very reasonable price this really was a first class meal, with very friendly and efficient service. Can't wait to go back, this restaurant is a great find.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hester190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lunchtime Treat”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Went here for a birthday lunch after reading the reviews. We were seated straight away and served with drinks. The tables were very close together and we felt unable to have any sort of private conversation. As already stated elsewhere we were served by a variety of staff - and subsequently one starter was forgotten and we had to ask for it after the other had been finished.
The food was delicious and plentiful and good value on a special lunchtime menu. We would definitely go here again at lunchtime.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BenBrierley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppermill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Have walked passed this restaurant a number of times, and glad we didn't last week. The food was absolutely delicious. I've had quite a few Chinese meals in various towns and cities around the country but this has been the best one I've had for a long time. Good choice of dishes on menu. Very clean. Some of the staff could perhaps put a smile on their faces but apart from that it was a lovely meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rice Bowl also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Rice Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing