We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent chinese food :)”
Review of The Rice Bowl

The Rice Bowl
Ranked #59 of 2,296 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent chinese food :)”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Planned a meal here before going to the X Factor show at Manchester Arena. Was running a bit late so explained that we'd like to order before we were seated (place was packed for early Saturday night); and that could we be in and out quick!
Staff were excellent and brought us some delicious luxury crispy dim sum platters and sizzling mixed skewers in a matter of a few minutes! Amazing considering how full and busy they were.
We'd never been there before, but pick restaurant because of the reviews on Tripadvisor
Food was some of the best Chinese I've had!!
Totally recommend this place!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric_n_Wilamena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    802
    342
    94
    41
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
beaker666
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“best Chinese ever”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I have been coming to this restaurant now for 10 years and I live in lincoln.
Found this by pure chance and always look forward to the meal here.
The menu range is extensive and massive vegetarian options.
Love this place we try different dishes all the time never been disappointed.
They treat you really well and give you free options to eat, I'll say no more its nice touches tho

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beaker666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not in Chinatown but well worth a visit.”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Called in on a Sunday afternoon during a shopping trip.
Dim sum platter extremely moorish, Shanghai prawns absolutely delicious, excellent sizzling fillet steak and a side of fantastically tasty noodles.
Service was attentive even though the restaurant was busy with a birthday party.
We will definitely return, highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ged_Cas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a meal here recently, we ate from the special menu. Adequate choice & portions. Soup starter was very hot, burned my mouth but the main course, although tasty was only just warm.
Would go again.

Helpful?
Thank leannedoris76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Chinese food in great setting”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Visited during a recent trip to Manchester. The restaurant is downstairs with a waterfall and fish pond next to the stairs. The staff were attentive and friendly, and the restaurant was very clean. There is a set menu for early diners, but we chose from the main a la carte: 2 dim sum platters(seafood and steamed), tea smoked chicken and hot pot lamb, noodles. All beautifully and modernly presented with distinctive, clean and fresh flavours. The meat was very tender and the sauces were flavourful. Complimentary prawn crackers and fruit was a nice touch. Total bill £55.85 for two large bottles of sparkling san Pellegrino and the above food. Will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RuthBrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rice Bowl also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Rice Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing