We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal on a rainy Manchester day!”
Review of The Rice Bowl

The Rice Bowl
Ranked #56 of 2,254 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely meal on a rainy Manchester day!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My boyfriend and I probably chose the worst weekend (for weather) to visit Manchester, but thankfully 'The Rice Bowl' perked our friday afternoon up! We got the £12.95 evening set meal which was gorgeous, and great quality for the price. We arrived at 5pm and the place was empty but within 15 minutes almost 5 more groups had arrived, so you could tell it was a popular place! The chicken and sweetcorn soup warmed us right up and the little extras such as prawn crackers with dips and fruit for afters was lovely. I only wish there was a rice bowl in Newcastle!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lhg2291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    780
    333
    91
    39
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I visited this restaurant last minute having read trip advisor reviews we thought we would give it a go, we got a taxi from the hotel that we were staying at,we rang the Rice Bowl earlier to see if we needed to book and they told us that they didn't take bookings for couple as it was that fast paced we didn't need too, we knew it would be busy as it was Sat night and to be honest it actually added to the experience. We were seated straight away and got our drinks an didn't have to wait long for our food (considering how busy it was we were expecting a little wait.) the Food was amazing I've never had crispy duck like that it was the best I've ever had .... The mains were just as nice I had crispy chicken in mandarin sauce an my boyfriend had sweet and sour sauce and to top it off the price was very decent, a fabulous place with great service food and for a good price. Hopefully be back in the next few months

Helpful?
1 Thank MRS-PEEPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never a bad meal!!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I have been to the Rice Bowl many times and it still remains my favourite Chinese by far.

Its a lovely little place located in a basement not far from the Arndale.

The service is always great and the prices are average.

They provide prawn crackers to start the portions are massive so I would recommend sharing mains if your getting a variety of rice and noodles.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rach213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Boring with barely adequate food”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Walked across Manchester from hotel to eat here on strength of other reviews. A cellar restaurant, first impressions were it was clean but rather gloomy and old fashioned. Service was friendly and pleasant but food less than inspiring. Barbecue beef puffs were small pasty shaped pastries which looked and tasted as if they'd come straight from the freezer. fried vegetables were ok but the peanut sauce was bland and reminded me of my gran's onion gravy. Sizzling Mongolian beef was also bland though repeated on me all next morning. Wasn't cheap, around £26 without alcohol, and left me feeling rather unsatisfied. I'd walked past Chinatown to get there and wish I'd stopped off somewhere else on the way, there looked many more attractive places.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardiff27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese Food!!”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We visited the Rice Bowl in the evening after reading reviews on here. The food was amazing,you get a very warm welcome and looked after throughout your visit. I really enjoyed it and would most certainly go back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rice Bowl also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Rice Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing