We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous little Restaurant”
Review of The Rice Bowl

The Rice Bowl
Ranked #57 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous little Restaurant”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My mum and I always choose to go to The Rice Bowl if we are in Manchester for shopping. This is usually in the week and we always take advantage of the lunch menu which is excellent value for those with a smaller appetite like us! However we visited last night (Saturday) as we were going to a concert at the MEN. We had the set evening menu and despite being very busy the food was still of a very high standard and the waiters were very attentive.
We try not to recommend to too many people as we want to keep this little gem a secret!
I have to say it is definately the best chinese that i have ever had!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenLesleyBarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    788
    334
    91
    40
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“WOW, beat this for quality and service if you can!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Once upon a time, this restaurant was one of the original Chinese eateries in Manchester and was called The Little Village. The 'village' was superb, but The Rice Bowl just cannot be faulted! Three of us really over ordered, mainly because everything on the menu sounded so tantalizing. We started with a luxury mixed platter for 3 (6 pieces each!), followed by a quarter crispy duck with pancakes - 2 pancakes each but plenty of meat on the duck. We each ordered a main course and I particularly recommend the Merlot beef hot pot. The other two dishes were vermicelli Singapore style and prawns in Cantonese sauce. All portions were very generous, served piping hot and very very very tasty! It was all so good we all took doggie bags home. One main point that has to be mentioned is the service. It is exemplary. All staff were attentive without being intrusive and a really nice touch was fresh wine glasses delivered with our second bottle of wine. Wine: really recommend the Berry Estates Chardonnay at £15 - delicious. We'll be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pauline53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We visited here last Saturday and so glad we booked! We had to queue on the stairs that led downstairs for a wee while before a member of staff asked if anyone had booked and we were quickly shown to a table. Unfortunately we were a table of four given a large round table for eight.

The food is amazing. I'm vegetarian and I've never been so spoilt for choice, the selection was the best I've ever seen for a Chinese restaurant. It was really refreshing to see things on the menu I'd never been able to try before. It goes to show that with a bit of imagination and effort vegetarians can enjoy a great meal too.

The place was really busy when we went in at 8.30pm and really noisy. I felt like our table got passed by the staff as they rushed past to other tables but the food more than made up for it.

Two courses for four people including two rounds of drinks came to £80... Fantastic value for the best Chinese we've ever had. Will definetly be back next time we're down in Manchester.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melaniemilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well priced, authentic Chinese food”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Went on a Saturday evening, restaurant was but and had a good atmospehere. Service was very good complemented with a varied menu and very nice food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“cheap and cheerfull”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

i have been here many times and over all it is quite good,food is usually good and tasty,service is good and very reasonably priced for lunch.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank suzanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rice Bowl also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Rice Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing