We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALWAYS PAY A VISIT HERE WHEN IN TOWN”
Review of The Rice Bowl

The Rice Bowl
Ranked #56 of 2,254 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
mallorca
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“ALWAYS PAY A VISIT HERE WHEN IN TOWN”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We paid a mid-week visit to the Rice Bowl and do honestly find it to be the best of it's kind. The service this time was a little disappointing but the food was as good as ever. We will certainly return.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ELIZABETHMALLORCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    780
    333
    91
    39
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale
Level Contributor
129 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent food and value”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Had lunch today and the lunch menu was excellent value and really good food. £6.95 with £1 extra for soup . Nice basket of prawn crackers included and orange and melon to finish .

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigjohn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Some of the best Chinese food I've eaten”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Really good food in a nice environment. Reasonably priced and attentive staff. My girlfriend is vegetarian and said the 'mock' duck pancakes were one of the nicest things she's ever eaten. Would definitely go again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank OwenF1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
335 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Average Valentine's meal”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hubby and I booked here for a meal on valentines, whilst on a break in Manchester. Booked on the back of TP reviews. Unfortunately it was a bit of a disappointment in that only a Valentine's menu was available, with no main or set menu's offered. This wasn't explained or commented on when booking and was not advertised on website or advertising menu hoardings outside restaurant as the only menu available as we could see.
This didn't end up a major issue as the menu offered was to our tastes. It was reasonably priced, considering it was Valentines. Food quality was okay, though by far not the best Chinese cuisine we have eaten or ordered. It was though fresh and hot.
Would return to try main menu.

Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“disappointing return to an old favourite”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

After a gap of about a year- we went back to the rice bowl. So sad, it was a shadow of it's former self. This may be because we re-visited on a saturday night - not the best time to visit any restaurant - but standards have slipped dramatically since my last visit, an early weekday tea time. Service was sloppy, with waiters telling us we hadn't ordered beer when they forgot to bring it, and the food was bland and arrived haphazardly, with some of our party served ten to fifteen minutes before others. I ordered the vegetarian Mee Goreng, despite the waiter warning me off it as it had chilli in it (!). However, when it arrived it was bland and tasteless with no evidence of any chilli!
on the positive side, the starters were delicious - I had spring onion pancake, which was tasty, crisp and well presented - and the staff were friendly and eager to help, if a little overwhelmed on a very busy night. I will go back, but probably not on a Saturday night!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 13Lin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rice Bowl also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Rice Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing