We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely meal.”
Review of The Rice Bowl

The Rice Bowl
Ranked #53 of 2,279 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Boston, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a lovely meal.”
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Have been to many, many oriental restaurants in my life but this one has to be one of the best. Could not fault either the food or the service and I happen to be a real stickler for service. Attentive without being overbearing just how I like it. Food was very good and really tasty. Full marks from me.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fred_quimby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    796
    339
    91
    40
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife loves this place shes Asian ! We all had a good meal and good service couldn't really fault it

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank gazdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still one of the best”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

If you have dined here you can understand why its so popular, the food is amazing and the service great also. We were taken here by a friend two years ago and have returned each trip to Manchester. Highly recommend.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Allburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good Chinese lunch”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We visited here late on a Saturday lunchtime in January. The restaurant is situated on Cross Street near to the main shopping area, just a doorway leading down to the restaurant, it would be easy to miss. We were welcomed in a friendly way and shown to a large table. Menus were brought and drinks orders taken quickly.

Drinks were reasonably priced and the Merlot wine was good. Lunch is a set price at £6.95 for a main course and rice. Soup is an extra £1 and a crispy starter of spring roll, samosa, crispy seaweed and a pork pastry was £7.95 for 2. My hot and sour soup was delicious, but we thought the platter was slightly small for the price in comparison with the main course.

Main courses were tasty and hot and served with a large bowl of fried rice. Portions were reasonably sized and served with both chopsticks and forks if needed. Staff were friendly and helpful and service throughout our lunch was very good.

Surroundings were very pleasant and the toilets were clean.

I'd love to go back during the evening for dinner but in the meantime, it's a great place for a reasonably priced lunch in Manchester and I'd certainly visit again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DivaYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excelent Dim Sum”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Had the Dim Sum sea food selection as a starter, which was excellent followed by chicken chow main and sizzerling pork with spring onion and ginger. The meal
fabulous and restaurant had a pleasent atmosphere for a Saturday afternoon. The staff were helpfully and attentive. Would definately go again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smithroger17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rice Bowl also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Rice Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing