We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rice Bowl

The Rice Bowl
Ranked #51 of 2,184 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
“Absolutely brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I chose this restaurant after finding out about it on trip advisor, and I am so glad I did! The staff were extremely attentive, there was a wide variety of dishes and the space was decorated very nicely. I would 100% recommend it.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ASP1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    747
    325
    84
    35
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Food just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The restaurant was very busy with a buzzy atmosphere. Service was very good, but the food was average. Crispy duck was too dry, and the plum sauce tasted more like an orange sauce. Sea bass was good. Noodles very hot.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank cigarmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lively and”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stumbled on this place by accident but what a find.
There's buzzing atmosphere and a queue for a table at peak times but well worth the wait.
The food is fab-u-lous!!!
Great choices, beautifully cooked and presented.
Don't know how the staff manage to be so attentive with such a busy service but they are brilliant.
We would definitely go again and highly recommend

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2HappyTravellersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Superb Late Night Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Always a favourite for after-pub Chinese meal. Great food, good prices and very welcoming. Huge menu and not a bad place at all to have a few cheeky after pub drinks either.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Thanks TA - and Rice Bowl”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Following all the rave reviews on TA we (the trouble and strife and me) decided to try it out before a concert on Saturday and weren't disappointed. We dined early so it wasn't full but there was still enough custom for the place to have a nice 'buzz' about it. The service was excellent and the staff couldn't have been more friendly. The courses came quite quickly but as it only takes a nanosecond to cook Chinese food that was no surprise and we weren't rushed to leave once we'd finished eating. The food itself was very good, as was the wine, although I still find it difficult paying £16 for a wine that can be bought in a supermarket for a fiver. However I'd better start getting used to it as that seems to be pretty standard!
Give the Rice Bowl a go. You'll enjoy it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clgardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rice Bowl also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Rice Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing