We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be more peoples in here”

Punjab Tandoori Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: North and south indian food served in proper indian style
london
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Should be more peoples in here”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Great food very friendly. Try these guys out. Dosas are huge so go easy on starters. Everything served searing hot and very clean toilets.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thestonefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    145
    32
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Better food among the other Indian restaurants in town”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

What attracted me to the place, was relatively more vegetarian dishes option. Food was not bad for taste and the service was good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Abismal service”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Paneer tikka was tasteless the mixed starters were overcooked dosas were nice however my veg curry was just full ov lemon and ginger music was some techno stuff that they would play at bowlers rave party I had to ask them to change the music , they more atentive to the party upstairs the waiter just plonked the food on the table and shown how he just did not want to be at work as it was 11.30 sweets!!! We were given the bill before we even contemplated on the dessert menu such ashame I've read some good revues about this place but will defo not return as I did not feel welcome

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Khichri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Stands out from the average place”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I've been to the Punjab several times, and the food they serve is definitely much better than what you get in most curry mile restaurants. They serve unusual foods (e.g. dosas) and everything tastes fresh. The service is very friendly and they recognize you when you come more than once.
The last time I visited, the police came and arrested one of their workers, maybe an illegal immigrant? It was all a bit weird, but we still got our food, albeit a bit more slowly than usual.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saskia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Rusholme/Curry Mile by far”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Been going to Punjab Tandoori for >15 years, food consistently good. Excellent for vegetarians with many options and carnivores well catered for too.
One of very few places in Manchester where some South Indian food is offered - the dosas here are excellent, plus bhel puri, papri chat and some other dishes different to standard 'Indian restaurant' fare.
Food is well and subtly spiced rather than over-chilli hot as in many of the Curry Mile establishments. Friendly service and good value.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ramborao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punjab Tandoori Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Punjab Tandoori Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing