We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If the chef is on form its a great little eatery”
Review of Cedar Tree Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cedar Tree Restaurant
Price range: $45 - $47
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“If the chef is on form its a great little eatery”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Everything is delicious and fresh, reasonable value, and a bringyour own, the restaurant is very dating and freezing in winter though, oh the raw meat dishes are huge so beware!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank tsinamuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    2
    4
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“gone downhill”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

been a few times in the past and the food was really nice although the surroundings were not the best! Went last night and it was freezing no heating so had to keep our coats on which isn't ideal. Food came in reasonable time but was luke warm though some of the meat was burnt. Waitress was hopeless! asked if they did chilli sauce to which she said yes, she din't come back till we had finished the meal she then informed us the chilli sauce wasn't yet ready! Needless to say we will not be returning

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“so bad it isn't true!!!”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My friends and I travelled into manchester centre and were really looking forward to our lebanese meal. As we stood facing the restaurant we should of turned around and gone elsewhere. The shutter was down over the window and the glass door had been smashed at some point and not repaired!!
We went inside and lets just say that this was a restaurant time had forgot. Some kind of climbing wall assembeled on one side of the room and hanging baskets with plastic flowers hanging out of them!! BUT we thought it's not always how it looks maybe the food (according to the reviews we had read) will be great and really worthwhile. How wrong we were :(
Our group (7 adults) were sat at a table that sat 4 if we were lucky we also had a small coffee looking table shoved on the end that 2 of us were able to sit at. There were no proper table settings and we were missing cuttlery and chairs for 2 of us. When we were finally sat we waited 90 mins to get our starters that came out randomly I myself had ordered a salad as a starter to be told after 90 mins that there was NO salad!!!!! lets just say the remainder of the eveining didn't amount to much with over cooked food, hair in food and missing food. Luckily enough we had brought enough alcohol to get us through what would have been an appalling night. As to whether the people who have written the reviews on here have actually been to the same place I would question and if you are thinking about going then I would seriously think twice!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers alive and well in Lebanase restaurant”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Table booked at really well reviewed restaurant great we all love to try different cultures foods. 8.30 arrive and surly waitress looking so fed up to see us, finds us some chairs,distributes menus, napkins etc.Then we get starters at 10. Are then told no salad for one main meal so alternative ordered. 10.40 we get main meals (now we worry that trains taking us back to various areas of the n w will leave without us!). Meals lovely (apart from few dark hairs found in meal) no chips arrive as ordered (unsure if charged for them as just wanted to get out), finally we all laugh our way out of the building to a nearby pub. Owner did apologise for lazy staff but we had a great night despite it! although we had high expectations shattered.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatieCFulwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Yes it looks tacky but the food is great”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Cedar Tree is a valuable asset to Manchester city centre. Not only is it unique to the area, it also offers exceptionally well cooked and delicious food of Lebanese cuisine in surroundings that would not look out of place in the Middle East. The cedar tree, you may have gathered, is part of the Lebanese flag and nobody is prouder of that than Chef/Patron Hassan Chahine, whose grandmother must surely have been known as the Mother of All Menus on account of her ability to cook over one thousand dishes, an achievement which has been passed down to Hassan. All dishes are freshly prepared, with Lebanese spices much in evidence, and grilled meats make up most of the main courses. THIS IS NOT THE PLACE TPO TAKE YOUR GIRLFRIEND...but if she is not fussy or if you are out with the boys than this is a good place to go...CAREFULL Hassan, teh cheff does not like to be rashed...he cooks everithing fresh so it takes a bit of time. Bring your own drinks he only serves cokes and water....I'd go back again

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyKIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Tree Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing