We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still awesome food”
Review of Armenian Taverna

Armenian Taverna
Ranked #139 of 2,295 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Since opening in 1968, we have been inviting you to experience our hospitality and wonderful cuisine. We have been serving the same great food for over four decades. Armenia has a very rich culinary culture, with influences from neighbouring nations. Walking down the steps takes you back in time, which is pleasant amongst the bright shop fronts of Albert Square. The ambiance is superb with the warmest use of colour and artefacts. Our home made mezze starters will get your taste buds tingling whilst mains include traditional charcoaled grilled meat`s. Family run since opening shows the passion of the Armenian Tavern with grandma’s recipes and tastes that have been handed down for generations.
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Still awesome food”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Been coming to this restaurant for a while now. Always really friendly service by the staff and the owners always come along to say hi when we visit.

Good tasting food and a lovely atmosphere are guaranteed on every visit. We always go for little dishes to share out.

For desert, nothing quite beats the rum baba. A must try even if you're sharing it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deanophil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    123
    32
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sale
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not quite as good 2nd time around”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I came here several years ago and managed a return visit when in Manchester recently on a Friday night for a concert at Barbirolli. It was during the March bad weather albeit the restaurant was still busy and no doubt attracts workers before going home as well as those coming into the city for a night out.

Its a basement venue thus not the easiest to spot unless you know its there, just near the Town Hall.

On descending the stairs you find a fairly large dining area which has quite dated decor and some DIY fittings as well as numerous ornaments, not all of which have anything to do with the Armenian culture.

The menu is best described as 'Middle Eastern' so has humous, taramasalata and similar starters. If taking these dips the restaurant serves a large flatbread similar to naan as well as the more usual pita.

For main course we had a mixed kebab and trout both with rice, grilled veg and a side salad.

The meat on the kebab was not the best quality Ive had and there was no lamb although a lamb chop was on the plate instead! The sauce added to the kebab was quite bland - Id expected something a bit spicy.

We also had a caraffe of red wine which was quite good quality and good value.

Only 3 sweets on the menu but when asked for we got a plate of Turkish delight. The coffee was also not on the menu but when asked for there was a good choice.

Service was good and we ovelooked the kitchen area where the chefs cooked over a charcoal grill. I got a slight impression that the staff were a little in awe of the owner owner as they didnt seem comfortable when he was around.

If I want this sort of menu in future I'll probably stick to Hannis in Sale which is definitely 5* rating for a similar type of food!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“I mean....Armenian is the best !”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Meeting friends from the midlands had a meal during a Saturday evening recently. chose the banquet option with falafel flatbreads hoummus taramasalata lamb kebabs lamb chops and sausage olives as a Mediterranean addition chutneys with beetroot and bulger wheat and green beans salad accompaniment ...Rioja and finished with krupnik coffee and Armenian delight...could be bettered !!

Lively buzzing atmosphere and attentive though not intrusive service..
Always helpful and very accommodating. Great clientele...they know what they like..a cultured set

Going back for more!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spilsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“go here for lunch with a difference”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Share a delicious mezzah for lunch in the heart of Manchester - fabulous flavours and textures, and so different from what is available elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was a truly wonderful find. A very welcoming host and charming waiting staff, this Taverna has elegance and atmosphere, with a real sense of being in another country and culture. There is a lot of meat and fish on the menu, but we are vegetarians and found outstandingly lovely vegetarian dishes making a kind of banquet for two. Fresh ingedietns, lots of characterful and contrasting tastes and textures, very beautifully presented. And with excellent house wine too (the Armenian coffee was fabulous). This will be the first place we go back to when we are next in Manchester.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armenian Taverna also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Armenian Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing