We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch time was great”

Bella Italia Manchester Deansgate
Ranked #129 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Dine in one of Manchester's most lively and cosmopolitan areas at the brilliant Bella Italia restaurant in Deansgate. Set amongst the areas numerous restaurants and bars, Bella Italia is a top spot for affordable Italian dining. Warm colours create a cosy ambience and the typical bistro style furnishings are a trademark style of Bella Italias throughout the UK. The menu offers a whole host of Italian classics from pizza to pasta and salads to grilled meat and fish. Try the succulent Italian burger served with ciabatta and mozzarella or the juicy chargrilled salmon steak with green beans, roasted new potatoes and olive and tomato salsa. The dessert list is too good to miss with tiramisu, lemon tart and banoffee pie amongst others to choose from.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
429 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Lunch time was great”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Popped in for lunch when passing. Sat inside to get away from the smokers and traffic noise.

Drinks ordered and the waitress took our food order.
She was really pleasant and very efficient.
The food arrived quickly and it was superb.

We will definitely go back

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neville B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    160
    78
    36
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Disappointed ”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Really disappointed with this restaurant as Bella Italia is normally such a safe bet.
The restaurant was pretty busy and seemed to be woefully understaffed. We had quite a wait for our drinks to be served but then the food came out in good time. I ate my pizza due to the fact I was starving but it's the worst dish I've ever eaten in a Bella Italia. The topping was very poor and it was quite salty. The couple on the next table failed to get their starters and then returned their mains as they were cold.

Helpful?
Thank Rob1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great service, poorly prepared food”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

30 June 2014. The restaurant was extremely busy and the staff were faultless considering the numbers of diners. Unfortunately, the food was not to the same standard. We ordered a pizza style garlic bread (without cheese). The dough was thin and crispy but no taste of garlic whatsoever. We complained and it was taken away from us, coated with more garlic/oil, put in the oven and returned to us overdone.

The seabass filet looked wonderful. Sadly it was overcooked. The chicken casserole could have been better, the sauce tasting like something from a jar.

Overall, the only positive thing is that the olives were good.

Being in a hurry, and aware that the front of house was working hard, we chose not to complain.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pizza done right.”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

When I've been to this restaurant in the past, I've only ever ordered Pizza's because I'm not keen on the sound of there other dishes. While the people I've been with have ordered the Burgers and Pasta dishes, all of which looked lovely, I've stuck to the Pizza. The pizza here is amazing, I tend to go for the 'Make it yourself option' so I get all the things I want on it. The service is really friendly and relaxed, making you feel your at home rather than in the middle of town. The desserts are even more amazing, I could write a review just on that! I would always recommend the Cookie Dough Lava Cake for any chocolate lovers - it's incredible.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shadlea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have eaten there twice now and each visit was a good experience with excellent food. Staff were attentive and helpful. I would not hesitate to go there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dhodge61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Italia Manchester Deansgate also viewed

 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Bella Italia Manchester Deansgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing