We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunchtime”

Red Chilli Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #426 of 2,295 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $65 - $65
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lunchtime”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

A colleagues birthday, we had the lunchtime menu which was under £6. Food came promptly so we all ate at more or less the same time.

The restaurant is regularly frequented by University staff. We would go again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bootcamp09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    102
    48
    27
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“decent chinese restaurant”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I came here for dinner in a group of 9 people on a Saturday night and luckily we were still seated without waiting for too long. Initially I thought there will be quite a lot of spicy foods, but the choices on the menu was more than adequate. The portions were of good size with us sharing. The cantonese pork was delicious.

Only negatives were the staff were a bit rude, impolite and ignored us when we tried to get their attention.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Had worse!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

More authentic than your average Chinese but service is hit and miss and the dishes weren't overly different in taste indicating very similar sauce bases.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vivianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly surprised! ”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food! Expensive for a takeaway but huge portions. Would definitely go back and possibly try eating in next time as the restaurant looked clean and the staff were friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Customer95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What's gone wrong here”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This used to one of the best restaurants in Manchester. Where did it all go wrong? Has it changed hands? Our lunchtime meal today was truly awful. Poor quality food - the crispy duck was tasteless, the pancakes were in shreds and stuck together. The service was indifferent. This used to be where elderly Chinese ladies in silk dresses costing several thousand quid went to eat. I bet they don't now. It was almost empty, and I can see why. I'm on the look out for a good restaurant in Chinatown.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandyraeburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Chilli Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Red Chilli Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing