We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great authentic Chinese taste!”

Red Chilli Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #429 of 2,246 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $65 - $65
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great authentic Chinese taste!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We are regular customers at Red Chilli in China town. Once you've eaten there, you can never go back to any Chinese take-away. You need to know what to order though. As we can't read Chinese menu, we have ended up ordering not-so-authentic taste menus before. By trial and error, we now always order fried morning glory vegetables ( Tong Choi with garlic sauce), chilli eel with less chillies ( as it can be full of chillies if not instructed!), fried King prawns with duck egg yolk ( without shells ), Mutton with coriander and sometimes braised Pork with vegetables. Not the healthiest options available there but they are just delicious! Portions are so large that I always end up taking them back home! It does not have the grandest setting but if you're only after good authentic Chinese food, highly recommended. We would go there again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KMyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    93
    47
    26
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
hull
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“scraps on the table”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

i suppose all i can say is that it s very authentic chinese food ,and half the clientel were chinese .

However, my main course was awful.I saw a picture of chix and mushroom and herb casserole spicy,and ordered with boiled rice.

the casserole was pond weed and bits of chopped chicken leg ends,i.e. boney/scraggy skin and impossible to eat with a knife and fork ,nevermind chopsticks.

must have cost 20p to make.

my girlfriend chose a safer betr,sweet chili fried chicken which was quite sickly,with egg fried rice.

even the diet coke was watered down.

finally the coup de grace, a side order of pork meat stuffed in a savoury pancake,the pancake was good,but the greasy re constituted pork had a very strong taste,perhaps a mix of liver and feet and head mashed up,who knows but we was taking no chances.

if you like authebtic asian food(thai/malaysian/indian) like i do ,be careful what you wish for,this is scraps on the table chinese style !

on a plus point the egg fried rice and boiled rice were adequate.

i think there is a large chinese community in manchester which this is aimed for,but for most people with tastebuds ,and good teeth ,please avoid like the plague,it will destroy both!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank amy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food, service unpredictable”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have been to the Red chilli a few times and the service does tend to be a bit unpredictable. We do tend to stick to the same half a dozen meals as we are comfortable with them but everything is always delicious. The squid starters - either salt and pepper or in batter - are excellent. Crispy shredded beef, duck with leeks or garlic and salt crab are all our favourites - everything always comes out hot and tasty. Drinks can be a bit pricey but the food is reasonable priced. Well worth a try if you haven't been.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 213Lancslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Food was good, service room for improvement”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We picked this restaurant as it has a particularly good, varied menu especially with. Good range of vegetarian dishes. We went for a £20 set meal. Several staff dealt with us, however the one waitress who took our order failed to write anything down. Alas, when the dishes arrived, one was wrong. Not a huge problem as they replaced it. Service could have been a bit more friendly.

The other concern was a visit to the Gents WC - by no means clean and we observed a membr of kitchen staff leave the cubical and walk out without washing his hands.

Despite green tea was added to the bill free of charge, we left without paying any tip.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philstephenrichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Awful.”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Visited as part of a large group on Saturday night for a friends birthday and it was fairly busy,
Heaven knows why....
The group was split over two large round tables - i can understand this but it did make serving people a bit awkward (they werent the type of tables that turned around)
Service was mainly abrupt and unfriendly with staff making little effort to interact. The beer at 4.50 a pint was flat and initally was not filled to the pint line.
The menu was odd. The dishes that were on the set menus were stuff that i would expect to see - various meats in black bean sauce, sweet and sour, OK etc
The ala carte menu was a whole different ball game. Lots of offal and dishes ive never heard off. NIce if you like that kind of thing not for me.
Evetually I orderd some salt and pepper ribs and Shredded beef with Chilli.
The ribs were OK a bit fatty in place but OK - other starters seems go down OK.
However the mains were dire: My shredded beef tasted of nothing but deep fried cooking oil with an almost tasteless slick of oily sauce.
A friends birds nest noodles tasted like soggy cardboard. All around the two tables there was a lot of food wasted - i have never seen so much is was embarrasing. I paid just over £23 for a beer a starter, main and a very small portion of rice. I was robbed - i ended up getting takeway near home to keep me going.
One to avoid.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluehobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Chilli Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Red Chilli Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing