We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food ”

Glamorous Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #688 of 2,274 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $26 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: At Glamorous we serve the best in authentic Chinese dishes. All our meat and vegetable are sourced locally and freshly prepared by our expert chefs so you will always have a delicious and satisfying experience.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food ”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Service outstanding food yummy great place to entertain family n friends good choice of menus decor bright and cheerful

Helpful?
Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    100
    47
    37
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Enjoyed my lunch here. Lots of Chinese people eating here and I could see a lot of things on the menu that you might find in parts of mainland China. Large number sod covers so I can presume it sometimes gets very busy. Combined with a trip to Wing Yip supermarket to stoke up with rice and noodles.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank plaistowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Authentic and wonderful”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is probably the best dim sum restaurant we have been in the UK, in terms of quality and the price paid. We live in London and were refreshingly surprised to find dim sums very close to Hong Kong style in Manchester.

We had five dim sums (beef balls, fried prawn balls, beef tendon, lotus sticky rice) and a dish (ho fun), all but one are very well done, and were served very hot. The best is the sticky rice, you can tell it's freshly made. Ho fun is huge portion so it came as a surprise. If we still had the capacity, we would go for steamed rice and some fried stuff.

The bill came as £27.3, there is no charge for tea and service. In London we are usually charged 12.5% service, and the same meal would cost about £38.

If we were in Manchester again, we'd definitely go back.



Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GraceChung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Glamorous is a restaurant above the Chinese supermarket in Manchester (Wing Yip). Being fairly new to Chinese food (I am a Vegetarian and the local Chinese chippies don't cater much for me.) I was pleasantly surprised by the food at glamorous.

There is plenty of choice, particularly vegetarian, I had the Mongolian crispy "lamb" (very similar to mock duck) which was fantastic.

The decor makes it look like a Chinese butlins, but don't let that put you off.

The service isn't great, often feel like you are overlooked, saying that when you do speak to the waitresses they are polite and always see to your request promptly.

I have visited since and will continue to do so.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elisia92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“now the dim sum capital of manchester”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

slightly awkward to get to but pretty spacious restaurant serving wide variety of dim sum and other dishes a few items of offal as well on the menu which a enjoy. easy on the pocket

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jason p H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glamorous Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Glamorous Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing