We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another wonderful evening......”
Review of Evuna Deansgate

Evuna Deansgate
Ranked #36 of 2,296 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $64
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
manchester - England - UK
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“another wonderful evening......”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

our 4th visit here to Evuna ....everything is perfect and is our favourite place ....we ate on Wednesday 12th Feb ...the night manchester was hit by horrid weather ....we braced ourselves for a quick walk down deansgate to a wonderful warm Evuna !!!! it was packed and glad we had booked our table .....

a fab meal - we chose tapas and enjoyed the wine as always ....we will be back soon xxx

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank choc56uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    253
    67
    23
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Close but no cigar”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Nothing wrong with Evuna per se but not sure it is worth a rave review.

The interior is very stripped back. Looks fine but posh? Not quite. The tables are glass on top of an old sewing machine trestle. Thus the leg room is really only designed for one as the cross beam is not central but to one side giving the sewer leg room, but not the person at the other side (me - with knees awkwardly pressed againat the beam).

Food. House sea bass in salt filleted at the table. My wife told me it tasted great but she had at least 6 bones in it - so the filleting obviously wasn't much good. My duck tasted good but required an effort to cut and the "aged port sauce" was far too runny - basically the consistency of port. The vegetables were good. Roasted potatoes were perfectly seasoned and enjoyed the peppers, courgettes etc.
My wife much enjoyed the vanilla ice cream with sherry but I was a little disappointed at my banana cake. The slices of banana on the top were decidedly chewy.

Service was fine and the wine of the week (a tempranillo) was excellent.

Overall bit disappointed, expected something more special.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeylandAtlantean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A "little" bit of spain”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

A bit overpriced but they do a pre theatre deal of 3 tapas for £10, but the food is nice and it is a nice environment to eat, sometimes you feel you are a bit rammed in but if you go early its OK.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank phill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Tapas”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Great Tapas good wine and helpful staff. Well worth visit. Very enjoyable evening. As it's also a wine merchants the staff are very knowledgable about the wine. When we left people were being turned away as it was full so you may want to book.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank easyrider45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, wine and service”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We went before a show at the Opera House. Great ambiance. We had tapas, which were first class, followed by the most delicious seafood paella I have ever tasted. The house wine was lovely too. The staff were attentive but not obtrusive. I was impressed by the fact that the waiter suggested options for us which saved us money on our overall bill. Definitely going back the next time I am in Manchester

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evuna Deansgate also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Evuna Deansgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing