We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too crammed in, not enough food”
Review of Thai-E-Sarn Classic - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai-E-Sarn Classic
Price range: $37 - $37
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“too crammed in, not enough food”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

The set menu is about £20 each, for which we got 1 satay skewer, 1 spring roll, 1 dumpling thing and a small portion of thai curry (about 3 desert spoons full). The food was ok, but its obviously more about the entertainment.
We were so crammed in, the whole row of 20 would have to stand up and move if 1 person wants to go to the bar or the toilet.
Crazy Wendy (the cabaret style karaoke host) was entertaining and worked all the tables, but it wasn't the best entertainment in the world by a long shot.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DrG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Only eat here if you're curious about what it's like to be a battery chicken”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We went here for a friends' birthday. Having lived off Burton Road about 8 yrs ago I remembered Thai E Sarn as a place that offered cheap but reasonable Thai food and had a rather OTT owner. As Thai-E-Sarn is now better known as Crazy Wendy's, it's clear that the owner is now the attraction rather than the food.
Our welcome was about as a far from warm as it's possible to imagine. A bouncer checked our bags, demanded to know which party we were with and then didn't seem able to cope with the concept that some people had arrived earlier than others. We then had to go in one by one as the front door was opened, then closed and an internal door was opened and then closed. This we were informed was due to noise complaints and the doors acted as some sort of noise airlocks.

Originally there were 8 in our party and we'd paid an £40deposit in advance. 1 party member had to drop out but the deposit was not applied to our meal but forfeited Having made a booking we were quite surprised that our table was crammed in between a wall and three other tables and that it was in fact a table for 4, just set for 7. Nobody could move without the entire table having to stand up and the people behind us. A distinct lack of elbow room, leg room or indeed room for plates on the table.

We were given the option of the two set menus and opted for the cheaper one at £20 a head as several members of the party don't eat seafood. The starters were luke warm, appeared to be slathered with watered down peanut butter rather than satay source and were flung onto the table in front of us. When we ordered drinks we were told we'd have to pay cash, they couldn't be added to the tab. The drinks were served in the same style as the starters. Warmish and entirely unsatisfying.
The main course was possibly the worse meal I have ever eaten. The rice was so overcooked that it was more like a risotto crossed with glue. The chicken in the curries was clearly plumped up with water and came from the saddest factory farmed chickens that ever lived. The stir fried vegetables were equally unpleasant, again overcooked and had clearly been sat around waiting to be dished up for some hours.

Combined with the increasingly raucous drunken singing from other incredibly boozed up customers (kareoke whilst eating does not an attractive sight make) and the attitude from the staff who clearly hated being there, this probably made for the worst dining experience of my life. After the table was cleared, two men in our group went to the loo as the bill was brought, Our table was suddenly surrounded by staff telling us to pay the bill, even as we were clearly in the process of paying up. It's not as if we could have ditched the bill between the labryinth of chairs and tables and the strange double door/bouncer situation anyway.

Wendy has a very successful business model, as plenty of people like getting drunk and are entirely indifferent to the food-like substances they throw down their throats only to throw up several hours later. However, if you like to be able to talk to your friends during a night out, eat the food presented to you and actually enjoy it, Wendy's is not the place for you.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Scossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Crazy Wendy's”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

You do not come to this restaurant for the food, it is the entertainment, like a bad Asian Kareoke parlour.

To be fair the food has improved over the last few years, and the wine is now drinkable.

Perfect for certain occasions

Helpful?
2 Thank dharpernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Tacky”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

this just didn't do it for us - karaoke and noisy groups wasn't what we were expecting - ok if you want a boozy noisy night and not too bothered about the food. thats all I can say really.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Florence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wouldn't bother...”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Went here with a group of friends for a Works Christmas party and regret The decision to go.

Food was poor compared to the thai places we visit in our home town - so if it's authentic Thai you are after.. Don't go here.

Now I thought didsbury was a leafy kind of town with a good reputation so to get frisked like we were entering a war zone seemed a little excessive.

Crazy Wendy.. I am gobsmacked she has such a good reputation.. She is awful or he.. Couldn't quite make out. And to go round collecting for children in Thailand, is that even legal without a charity number?

Over all it was an evening of let down after let down and a place that we as a group would not return to. If your looking to invest £25 plus of your hard earned cash in a night out, read the others reviews on here.. They are all spot on.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai-E-Sarn Classic also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing