We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ning

Ning
Ranked #174 of 2,185 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Manchester might be awash with slick dining outfits but none quite like Ning. Unlike many others, Ning values subtlety and sophistication both in its style and its cuisine. This Northern Quarter venue offers a bustling ambience somewhere between trendy canteen and chic bistro. With polished wood tables, voguish floral patterned wallpaper and candlelit tables, the interior strikes a similar balance of fashionable buzz meets classy intimacy. Award-winning, the predominately authentic Malaysian menu also offers Thai and fusion dishes, all made with fresh ingredients, free from added MSG. Ning's accomplished chefs pride themselves on producing a concise menu of carefully selected and well cooked dishes, and service is attentive without being over-bearing. Malaysian hospitality and food.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

What a lovely little gem this is!

This place is located in located in one of the less picturesque parts of Manchester- Oldham Street.

Its a tiny little family run place serving gorgeous Malaysian food at reasonable prices. The service is second to non and the food is truly incredible.

My only criticism is the drinks can be a little expensive but other than that the prices are what you would expect.

There are many dishes to choose from which helps when you have picky people in your group.

Remember that the restaurant isnt the biggest place ever so book in advance even if you are a party of two.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    154
    69
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

The variety of authentic South-East Asian dishes on offer is second to none - really tasty, well-executed and great value with friendly staff.

Ning has however, outgrown itself, and perhaps need to relocate and expand.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blankbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
341 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Great food but venue a bit cramped”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Visited on a Tuesday night. The service was excellent and very smiley and I really enjoyed the food.
I had the fish cake starter with the typical lovely Thai chilli dip followed by the
Daging Masak Kicap which was recommended by the chef and was a beautiful slow-simmered
topside beef cooked with curry leaves, cinnamon, star anise, malaysian curry flavour, potato and dark soy sauce
The Cote de Rhone wine we selected was an excellent choice as the strong tannin and the 14% content cut through the chillies and curry to give a beautiful round flavour.
Our waitress was attentive and very smiley although I could see that on a busy night the setting could prove to be a little tight - for a Tuesday the place was still nearly 30% full.

All in all it is easy found from Piccadilly Gardens and justifies its recommended status.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rftu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Me and my wife went for a meal here on a Friday night in November. Atmosphere was great, busy but not too busy to make it annoying. Place isn't as big as we imagined but I think that made it all the better. Fantastic choice of dishes on the menu. We enjoyed all 3 courses we had each! Price is reasonable and service was good.
We took a punt on this based upon trip advisor reviews and really glad we Decided to go.

Can agree that th tables are close together which might put people off but it didn't worry us

Would recommend this place to any one who wants to go for something a bit different for dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank benry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Too close for comfort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Ate here with a group of friends in November - food was nice, and great to have the menu marked up with gluten-free options. But the tables are jammed in, uncomfortably so when busy - you literally can't move. Service impersonal. A shame but won't be rushing back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LiztheWhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ning also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Ning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing