We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buzzing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Metropolitan

The Metropolitan
Reserve with OpenTable
The Metropolitan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #244 of 2,184 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $10 - $37
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Metropolitan's smart & classic decor reflects the building’s colourful history as a fine Victorian railway hotel. Behind the bar, tall library-style ladders reaching almost to the ceiling rest on a display of fine wines and premium spirits.Treat yourself to an afternoon tea in the relaxing library area with its comfortable armchairs, open fire and well-stacked bookshelves. Ifyou’re dining, take a seat in our elegant conservatory restaurant – light and airy in the daytime and warm and intimate come the evening, it’s the perfect setting to indulge in gorgeous home-cooked cuisine. We serve food all day from breakfast onwards and a there’s a selection of seasonal menus and daily specials to choose from. Our outdoor bar is a wonderful place to enjoy quality drink, fine food and balmy temperatures. You don’t have to wait for a sunny daythough; with its huge outdoor canopy you can dine alfresco whatever theweather.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Buzzing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I've eaten here several times and have always enjoyed it. The atmosphere is buzzing and it's really nice to sit outside on a summers evening. The staff are always pleasant and I have had no problems. The downside it is a little overpriced drinks and food but they do an early doors menu which is what I always have

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Corkysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    159
    67
    50
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Avoid this pretentious tourist attraction”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Over priced, poor quality and full of Egocentric and pretentious people (especially the staff!)

Now the tram has opened i only expect it to get worse with more people coming in because theyve heard about this swish pub in west dids. Its basically a pub full of people who are out to impress and really into themselves. Not the type of people who you want to spend your free time with. Please go back to deansgate locks where you all belong!

Staff are rude and obnoxious with little sense of urgency.

Once had a sunday roast and waited an hour...disappointed by this we didnt return for over a year.

Only ever go here if all else fails!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EasilyAnnoyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a lively, busy pub with a great family atmosphere. Good outdoor area - ideal on a sunny day. Down side can smell toilets in entrance and in sections of outdoor area!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The met has a nice atmosphere, mostly.
It's a little bit chavvy at times, but usually has a pleasant atmosphere.
I've eaten there twice now, once in the restaurant, which was a pleasant experience, but all the meals were very expensive and there wasn't a huge vegetarian choice.

Another time I had an open sandwich and chips. Thank goodness I got chips; after my slice of bread with cheese and chutney on I was starving, and still was left hungry after the chips. I think I recall that meal being around £7 or £8. Not what I expect to pay to still be hungry.
However, they do have a nice beer garden so it was nice to be able to eat outside.
You could go to the trendy northern qtr and get a big sandwich and some wedges for a few pounds less- much better value!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmeliaBeelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Pub, Great Food, Great People!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I came here for food after work with friends. Loved it as soon as I walked in and saw the old tables and chairs with candles on, and the open fire (obviously not on in summer but you get the idea). We had a drink first and then were seated at our table in the conservatory. It was pretty out here too with the view out to the courtyard.

When I ordered my fish pie I was warned it would take 20 minutes and asked if that was okay – it was absolutely fine with me but I really appreciated being asked. The food was great! And so was the chocolate dessert! Friends had a burger (massive!) and the vegetable pie, which both looked great. I would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a nice meal pub at a pub. The staff were really friendly too which always make as difference.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lianne-KF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Metropolitan also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing