We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great comment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sapporo Teppanyaki - Manchester

Sapporo Teppanyaki - Manchester
Ranked #57 of 2,185 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great comment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Excellent restaurant, superb food and attentive staff. Great wine but a bit pricy! certainly go again

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,189
    450
    172
    77
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bit dissappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have visited the restaurant on more then one occassion and they do have amazing cooking shows but on this occassion I felt that because we only ordered a selection of starters and no mains the staff serving us were pretty rude.

When we arrived at our 7.30 reservation the show on our table had already started. A woman come over to take out order and as soon as we ordered a selection of starters it was as if she had the hump with us because she made some sarcastic comment "is that it". The fact that if you order starters you also dont get any of the potatoes, veg and egg fried rice accompaniments was a little strange too considering our starters cost more then most of the other peoples meals on our table.

I felt our meal was very rushed as we were only given an hour reservation and as soon as show was over we were quickly cleared off table to bar area even though we had not completely finished eating. Everyone on our table was given a hot towel apart from us at end of meal.

I would reconsider before coming back to this restaurant again. I think the waiters need retraining on manners.

Helpful?
Thank Diamondee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SapporoTepp, Manager at Sapporo Teppanyaki - Manchester, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and your kind comments regarding our amazing cooking shows.
Here at Sapporo Teppanyaki, we pride ourselves on great food and great hospitality. We apologise if you did not receive our usual high standards of service – this has been highlighted to our management team and had you highlighted your concerns on the night, we would have happily endeavoured to rectify any issues you had, so that you could enjoy your Sapporo dining experience. May we also take this opportunity to let you know that our saute potatoes, egg fried rice and stir fry vegetables are served only as an accompaniment to our main teppanyaki meals. We have never served them alongside any of our starters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic family fun day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have been to Sapporo several times both in Liverpool and Manchester and we always have good food with great entertainment. The family fun day was superb and amazing value for money, the kids were so happy with their balloons and painted faces begging to go back as soon as possible. You have to be quick to get a reservation though as already fully booked for 2013 so need to put on extra dates.
You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mollyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Myself and partner came here last year on a Saturday evening. You must book before you go as it is very busy, also if there are large groups they will ensure you are all sat together.

Very entertaining watching the chef cook our meals and catching chips! Our meals were delicious!

Certainly go again, good service, and great food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmandaCT87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner even if slightly overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We booked this for a Thursday night and it was really could, I would definitely reccomend to anyone!

The dinner was delicious and the chefs fantastic! It was like having a show with your dinner and even though we were sitting with other people it wasn't cramped or awkward.

Unfortunately, I do have to score it down on service...it was great at the start of the meal and the chefs were good but it seemed as if we were forgotten about by the end. Everyone else had ordered their deserts and had left and we were still sitting there waiting to be served! This did ruin the end of our dinner slightly but compared to the whole experience wasn't a great concern!

It is however, quite pricey! Cost us almost £90 for 2 people for one of the cheaper set menus and they add a service charge (tip) automatically to the bill so you can't even decide how much you'd like to tip which I feel is a bit rude as we probably would've tipped even more than the service charge.

Overall though, it definitely was a great meal and a fantastic experience and I would most definitely go again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clairefairb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sapporo Teppanyaki - Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sapporo Teppanyaki - Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing