We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, fun entertainment and lovely staff”

Sapporo Teppanyaki - Manchester
Ranked #64 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A Unique Dining Experience Everything about Sapporo Teppanyaki defies the ordinary, from our displays of roaring fire to the thrilling teppanyaki performance exhibited by our master chefs. Sit back and relax as you watch our talented chefs prepare your meal in a uniquely theatrical style. Our teppanyaki dishes are prepared on a traditional, flaming hotplate, where we combine our awe-inspiring performance with masterful trickery in order to prepare some of the most delicious Japanese dishes available in the UK.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food, fun entertainment and lovely staff”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I was so pleased I recommended here to my friends as we couldn't have been happier. We were in a group that also consisted of 5 children, and felt very welcomed, the chef was hilarious and really entertained them all. Food was delicious, well cooked and we would be back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,224
    473
    177
    83
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place and food”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

went there on our visit to Manchester. This is greta place! the food is very delicious and the service great. It was very busy on our visit however we didnt had to wait for the food too long. Hope to visit again !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great experience and good food - but service could improve”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was a great experience for a family Christmas celebration on 27th December. It is fairly rare to find a restaurant that everyone across three generations (ages 7 to 75!) all enjoy so much and find entertaining.

As well as the entertaining and brilliant demonstration of cooking skill, the food itself here is of consistently high quality - in particular the teppanyaki griddled meats were cooked to perfection - especially the steak and pork were spot on - one minor criticism would be that the deserts are generally quite sweet and sickly, but then many people like that sort of thing and to be fair the deserts are not the main point of the meal here.

Our only significant complaint would be the level of service; the restaurant appeared a bit short on waiting staff, and it took quite a while to attract their attention to order our various drinks, and to see the drinks menus - and the drinks themselves took quite some time to arrive. However the service did improve as the meal progressed. I was a little disappointed that service was added on to our bill - I would prefer to leave a discretionary tip instead.

But these are minor points, and we will definitely go back to Sapporo Teppanyaki.

Its an ideal venue for a meal if you want to visit the Manchester Museum of Science and Industry which is just 2 minutes walk away and is itself a brilliant family day out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TarquiniusUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic as always”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

They managed to fit us in just before Christmas on the Saturday. My mum has never seen this spectical before and she loved it. It was slightly disappointing that we weren't made aware of the Christmas menu when booking, but actually it was very nice. The starters were fab, the mains varied, and to be honest, we'd had more than enough by desert.

If you are ordering, consider ordering meat from the teppanyaki grill - my mum didn't and went for tofu. Whilst it really was lovely, she had to wait til everyone else round the grill had nearly finished, and she was actually full from eating all the teppanyaki bits - when the tofu arrived with noodles, there was not a chance she was going to eat that plate full! The kind waitress offered to box it up to take home if we wanted.

The service was very good as always, even considering the turn over - a waitress told me 800 people per day! And the value of the Christmas menu was great - £20 in the daytime for all courses.

If you are considering for Christmas next year, go for it, it is a very good meal, for a party, or for family. But book early.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helena-Mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“End of year do!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Went here for a meal for a colleague who was leaving and the end of the school year. Had a set menu that is the best value for money I have ever come across. This set menu had choice and the food was beautiful. Good show too! Will definately return.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sapporo Teppanyaki - Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sapporo Teppanyaki - Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing