We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Great atmosphere”

The Grill On The Alley
Ranked #154 of 2,254 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $16 - $45
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food, Great atmosphere”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Went on a Thursday night food was fab, the staff were very attentive and helpful great place for couples and family's

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annette m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    845
    562
    276
    139
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing atmopshere - Okay food”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Reservation needed on a Friday night. Given great table right next to live piano music and singer (started around 8pm). Staff very attentive, gave suggestions, and found our ideal cocktail (a ginger, brandy mix).
Food was good, but steak was very expensive for the quality, and a pity it wasnt served with any salad or other accompaniments aside from the chips.
Delicious thai fishcakes to start and reasonably priced creme brulee to share for desert with some lovely (but very tart) strawberries.
Definitely worth a visit especially for the atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lois K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Like a school canteen”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We took two of our friends to this restaurant after looking at the reviews. We were disappointed. The restaurant was playing very load music and the place was very echoey. Too much noise to have a chat with out friends.

We ordered ribeye steak, which when arrived was very chewy and the mushrooms were cold. Too much noise at this location for our liking you couldn't hear yourself think. Food was just ok. Don't think we will be going again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SalfordSalfordred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fast service and tasty food”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great personal service, friendly staff. Tasty food and ice cold beer, not on the main stretch but worth remembering!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Customer644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fabulous - my favourite”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I love this restaurant, it's my favourite in Manchester. Great service, great value, friendly and helpful staff and gorgeous food. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClareS1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill On The Alley also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Grill On The Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing