We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time and looking forward to coming back”
Review of Olive Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Olive Restaurant & Bar
Price range: $22 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Olive Restaurant & Bar in Manchester is a few steps off Deansgate, was voted best working lunch venue in town, but it’s great for pre-theatre and family meals too. The dining room blends rustic Italian with modern style. Think exposed brick, farmhouse furniture, cool lighting and sleek bar. Only the freshest ingredients go into the classic and innovative Italian dishes; such as handmade artisan pastas, stone-baked pizzas, lighter salads and a selection of meat and fish. We are child friendly and feature a dedicated healthy menu, make-your-own pizzas and miniature versions of any dish on the menu. Our exemplerary service is renowned throughout Manchester and we strive to ensure everyone will return time and time again.
Chester
Level Contributor
116 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“2nd time and looking forward to coming back”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was the second visit to the Olive Press so have combined the reviews. The first visit was a works night out and the service for a party of 12 was excellent. The food is second to none and also resaonably priced. They have a good selection of pizza and pasta as well as some excellent meat dishes - I had the lamb and it was excellent. The second visit was just me and my husband and again really impressed with the friendly service and excellent food. I had pasta on this second visit which was fabulous. Overall would not hesitate to recommend the Olive Press and it's so convenient just off Deansgate.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lewisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    123
    33
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food & good service”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Friendly staff and a reasonable and interesting menu. There was plenty of atmosphere in the restaurant even on a Sunday evening and the food was tasty. We had the scallops and goats cheese tart to start followed by a risotto (goats cheese again) and the chicken stuffed with mozzarella and basil. It was all excellent as was the portion size. It left you wanting more rather than feeling stuffed. It is definitely worth a return visit and it won’t break the bank either.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Italian treat”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Went there based on good reviews on here. Service was excellent and on the front foot since we entered, bordering on the obsessive at some stages but never crossed that line. The food was of high quality and matched the price well. We had calamaris and sautéed mushrooms for starters and duck breast and lasagna for main. All of it was very tasty. Only clear minus was a very weak limoncello, which needs to be spot on in every Italian restaurant with some self worth!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MortenZUMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, food and staff was lovely and welcoming.”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Went there for a birthday dinner in a group of 12. The staffs and manager were very friendly and welcoming. Food was good and I like the environment. Nothing was too trouble for the staffs and the manager. I will be back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crabscoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST YORKS
Level Contributor
957 reviews
644 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Good food,good service,perfect combination”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We recently visited to share my wife's birthday and enjoyed a very good night in this atmospheric Italian restaurant.
From the moment we walked in we were made to feel very welcome.
Our table was comfortable and we had enhough room so it did not feel we were encroaching on someone else'e night out.
Our waiter, Bill, was very attentive throughout the meal.
We enjoyed a Bruschetta to share along with our Meatballs starter and a very good Goats Cheese tart.
For main we shared a Carnivore Pizza and Tagliatelle Arrabiatta with Pepperoni.
For desserts we had a delicious Tiramisu and Sweet Arancini balls.
We would recommend the Riva Leone Barbera read as it went down too eaily.
A very nice night and we look forward to returning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing