We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese food in town”
Review of Yang Sing

Yang Sing
Ranked #352 of 2,389 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $23 - $93
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Yang Sing has been in Manchester city centre for a long time, and it has sustained an outstanding reputation and a high level of popularity. It is the first choice of Manchester's substantial Chinese professional community. The most enjoyable approach is to come in a group and order one of the banquet options, or simply ask the chef to provide a "tasting menu" - in which case you need only to specify anything that you do not like. Reservations, particularly at weekends, are advisable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYangSingTeam, Manager at Yang Sing, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear martingreaves,Many thanks fo taking to trouble to let us know your experience. So pleased you enjoy the food and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 797 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

Came here with a large family group to celebrate a special birthday. Ordered one of the banquets, and left it to the waiting staff to decide what we had, having checked with us what people would and would not eat (hot, fish, cheese etc). The food was excellent, the service good, if erratic at times. They had 'lost' our reservation but still took us in. And we had to forgive the service issues to a degree as they had a VIP sitting in the corner, incognito but with an extended entourage, and his presence seemed to be distracting them.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MunroBasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

You can keep all your 'all you can eat' buffets, set menus here are as cheap as them and the quality and quantity would be hard to beat, no wonder it is so popular

1  Thank martingreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYangSingTeam, Manager at Yang Sing, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear martingreaves, Many thanks for your feedback which is very much appreciated. So pleased you enjoy the food. Hope to welcome you back to the Yang Sing soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Unfortunately this restaurant does not live up to expectations. The food was pretty dire, we had the hot and sour soup, mixed appetisers, fillet steak Cantonese and chicken green peppers & black bean sauce. The best we can say is that the chicken was good, if a little too salty, and the prawn crackers were ok. All other dishes were not anywhere near good enough. We were a fairly large party, and the staff appeared disorganised serving starters with mains, rice on the table a good ten minutes before the food, etc.. We won't be returning. We can recommend the little yang sing on George st and the Tung Fong in Worley for good quality food and cheerful service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Visited but just walking of the street during a business trip to Manchester. The staff quickly took our order and within minutes the food arrived. One female of staff was rather abrupt and rude. It was as if she was being forced to work. Towards the end of the meal the staff were hovering to order more drinks but didn't appear happy when he informed them we were not going to order any additional wine.

The food was very nice and I would recommend. Sadly the staff let the side down.

Thank Iain_with2_eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYangSingTeam, Manager at Yang Sing, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Iain with 2 eyes,

Thanks for leaving your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you felt our front of house team let the side down, we will pass on your thoughts to the general manager and make sure he follows up on it. Our team are trained and by in large endeavour to be attentive, however at times language/ communication barriers have led to misunderstandings.

Have a happy Easter and we hope you will come see us again soon.

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yang Sing also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Yang Sing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing