We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buzzy restaurant, great food :-)”
Review of Yang Sing

Yang Sing
Ranked #460 of 2,420 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $23 - $93
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great Chinese food in a lively atmosphere, loved it, staff brilliant, friendly, helpful, always there when you needed :-), will definitely go again. Thank you!

Thank Marais72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYangSingTeam, Manager at Yang Sing, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Marais72

Thanks for your lovely comments! we've passed on your compliments to the team and hope we shall see you again soon :)

Happy Easter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

824 - 828 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Amazing food, super staff, the best place to eat chinees in Manchester. Its certainly not cheap but you definitely get what you pay for. Delicious.

Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYangSingTeam, Manager at Yang Sing, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Sue A

Thanks for your kind words and we'd love to have you in every week :) Let us know if you do ;)

Many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Went here last night expecting great things, I'm not a massive fan of Chinese food these days but a recent visit to the Rice Bowl filled me with hope. The place was busy so we had about a 30 minute wait, I wish we had gone at this point. The menu is extensive but full of the usual recognisable Chinese dishes. I chose the stuffed steak strips in a pepper sauce and my partner the asparagus in a garlic sauce, both starters had to be ordered with a minimum of 2 pieces for some reason, the dishes arrived and the alarm bells rang, the inclusion of MSG was immediately obvious, both sat in a puddle of jelly like gloop, the asparagus was one piece cut in half yet they expected £5 for this! The steak was stuffed with something, I have no idea what as it didn't have any taste. The main courses arrived and were no better, the tofu was meant to be fried but hadn't seen a frying pan and again was sat in gloop and the garlic ribs chopped up in batter were inedible, no meat, all gristle and bone. The only redeeming dishes were the fried rice and noodles but even my six year old could get them right. We came to pay and the bill was over £70, outrageous for food of such low quality, this included a 'mandatory' 10% charge, we asked the very surly girl on the checkout if this was optional, three times in fact, she just said it's on the menu, it took a manager stood at her side to finally say yes it's optional, she was terrible. I would never set foot in this place again, awful food, high prices and bad service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank spendleb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Very expensive, however, good wine choice and lovely starters/dim sum. Having established that we liked spicy (hot) food our mains were adapted to increase their potency... hint: dried chillies remain inedible (not from a heat PoV, but from a paper-dry inedibility). Nice restaurant, but a bottle of wine and meal for two came in £1 shy of £100. Pricey, and I've had better mains from a take-away, but their dim sum is lovely.

We had to prompt for a bill before our theatre show started, despite the waiting staff establishing our evening plans early on. Unnecessarily slow service to present the bill.

Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYangSingTeam, Manager at Yang Sing, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Mike D,

Thank you for taking the time to feed back to us. We're pleased to read that you enjoyed our dim sum and wine selection and will endeavour to improve our the dining experience.

We do try to ensure our guests have a full and fantastic experience, and would be remiss if we were to offer the bill prior to it being requested, however on if you are coming to visit us again in future and are in a bit of rush we will of course accommodate this.

We look forward to seeing you again,

many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We held a networking meeting there which was smoothly organised with all we asked for. Lovely buffet lunch, great food . Only feeling that the place was a little tatty in parts, possibly from the volume of consumer traffic through. Still a great place to go, though.

Thank Ed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheYangSingTeam, Manager at Yang Sing, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Ed N,

Thank you for leaving your feedback.

We're glad your event went well and look forward to your next visit, we do have a series of works upcoming but if you have any more thoughts/ recommendations do not hesitate to drop us an email on marketing@yang-sing.com

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yang Sing also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Yang Sing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing