We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fresh flavours, excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tampopo

Tampopo
Ranked #187 of 2,185 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Singaporean, Malaysian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The original Tampopo: small, but perfectly formed. On Albert Square and overlooked by the impressive Manchester Town Hall. Popular for work lunches, after work eats or gig and theatre dinner. Seats 64. Solo diners, couples or small groups all welcome. For enquiries and bookings please call the restaurant directly.
ulverston
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“fresh flavours, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our third visit here and another lovely meal. Fresh clean flavours - can't remember the name of what we had but it was lovely as always! Service was professional and attentive without being overbearing. Good value food, drinks a bit pricey so it balances out to an averagely priced meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 24queenstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    126
    57
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“After a Hard Afternoon`s Shopping this Hits the spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Authentic Thai food served in generous portions a favourite of ours after shopping. Excellent service quick and efficient and reasonable value for the city centre.
Child friendly very accomodating and if there is anything you want just ask its amazing just what they can and will do.
Drinks can be expensive and will bump up your bill if you are not careful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Armitnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Different Strokes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I would usually only write a review of a place if I'm a big fan or my experience has been particularly poor. This time, though, I'm writing to correct a imbalance. The brand has a very strong reputation in MCR. But, the last three times we've visited have been underwhelming.

Tampopo has two Manchester restaurants - this applies to the one near the Printworks. Service was great on our most recent visit, but the food was not. I had a Pad Thai which which had hard noodles, few veg and very little sauce. My partner's beef was overcooked and rubbery.

We've noticed a difference in quality between food at the Albert Square branch and the Printworks venue. Ironically, we stopped going to Albert Square due to poor service. Perhaps they should get the chefs from Albert Square over to the Printworks. That way, there'd be one good Tampopo instead of two mediocre ones.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLastGentleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great food and great service in a really relaxed enviroment. The range of dishes are extensive and the staff are only to happy to talk you through the flavours of the dishes you might be unsure about. I go everytime i'm in Manchester.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have eaten here many times & every time the food & service are superb always prompt but not rushed. It is the most fragrant fresh food & we always leave full.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tampopo also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Tampopo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing