We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average meal for an average price in an average Chinese restaurant”
Review of New Emperor

New Emperor
Ranked #1,597 of 2,298 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An average meal for an average price in an average Chinese restaurant”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Visited here yesterday evening & had the four course banquet - chicken & sweetcorn soup with prawn crackers, crispy duck pancakes, sweet & sour chicken, beef with ginger & spring onion, a side of stir-fried vegetables & egg fried rice. All the dishes were piping hot & quite large portions - I thought the soup was okay but overly gloopy, however my partner really liked it & had seconds (which exemplifies the subjectivity of restaurant reviews!) We both enjoyed the crispy duck pancakes and sweet & sour chicken/egg fried rice. We took most of the beef & vegetable dishes home as we were so full but what little we tried was tasty enough. No qualms about the service - the staff were friendly & efficient. Overall, not a bad meal for what we paid - not the best meal we've had in China Town but by no means, the worse either...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BMF65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    63
    59
    43
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disapointing dinning experience”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Ate here with some friends expecting at least an average Chinese as in China Town. This was however one of the worst Chinese meals I have ever had, we were all very disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alisonreid13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Efficient and tasty”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I went with a friend using a Wowcher deal for a four course banquet. We had no idea what the four courses would be but were pleasantly surprised that one of the courses was crispy duck and pancakes which we both enjoyed. The sweet and sour pork was also very good. The service was a bit lacking, especially as the restaurant was fairly quiet on the day we went. Interesting to see that about half of the people eating there were Chinese, so the food must be up to standard.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Adequate”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Found the food average, nothing to rave about and also a little expensive for what you get. The service was good and didn't have to wait long. It must be quite popular with the locals as it was a busy Friday night. There is one thing to take into account. That is the service charge of 10% which is added to the bill upon payment. We had 2 x chicken and sweet corn soup. 1 x chicken curry with fried rice and 1 x chicken with mushrooms. 1 pint of larger and a glass of coke £32+. The soup and food was hot and but, staff were not very customer facing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Main57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcs,england
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Clearly popular with local Chinese as it was quite full with several big groups, even so service was good and efficient.
Food was mixed quality.
1/4 crispy duck average a bit too crispy, only 6 pancakes but duck was dissected at table which is good.
Sesame prawns on toast good
Chicken skewers - chicken dry/tough sauce very average.
Chicken with lemon and honey -- chicken again dry/tough
Quick fried King Prawns --- Very good prawns excellent
King prawn crispy noodles -- noodles nice and crispy , prawns excellent
Egg fried rice OK.
Tsingtao beer available but I am sure when I have had it before it wasnt so weak wife couldnt be bothered finishing it so we switched to wine . Good wine and not expensive .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Emperor also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to New Emperor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing