We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food”
Review of New Emperor

New Emperor
Ranked #1,609 of 2,279 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
worcs,england
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Clearly popular with local Chinese as it was quite full with several big groups, even so service was good and efficient.
Food was mixed quality.
1/4 crispy duck average a bit too crispy, only 6 pancakes but duck was dissected at table which is good.
Sesame prawns on toast good
Chicken skewers - chicken dry/tough sauce very average.
Chicken with lemon and honey -- chicken again dry/tough
Quick fried King Prawns --- Very good prawns excellent
King prawn crispy noodles -- noodles nice and crispy , prawns excellent
Egg fried rice OK.
Tsingtao beer available but I am sure when I have had it before it wasnt so weak wife couldnt be bothered finishing it so we switched to wine . Good wine and not expensive .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    63
    58
    43
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“We found food very good”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

After reading several bad reviews on this restaurant we wondered if we should cancel. But as we had already paid forit on Wowcher we decided to give it a try anyway. Well I dont know what the bad reviews were about as we found it good value for money & the food was certainly up to standard and plenty of it, we had a 4 course banquet and didnt have to wait in between courses. It was a little strange not having one waiter serve you the whole night (we got different waiters with each course) but that didnt affect the quality of the food. Also the place was almost full so that it always a good sign. We would certainly return

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJOXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dreadful!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our usual restaurant had a 1/2 hour wait so we thought we would try here. Big,big mistake. We ordered a banquet for 2. 1st course was crabmeat and sweet corn soup which was at best lukewarm.15 mins later dim sums arrived but no dips,waited another 5 mins then had to ask for some. Next was crispy duck pancakes. Normally they shred it at the table in any other Chinese restaurant but not here,it was dropped on the table already shredded and looking dry and warmed up. Then the real fun started! We waited 35 mins and the mains had still not arrived. I spoke to the manager and said if the food was not on our table in 5 mins I would pay for the food and drinks we had consumed and leave, he then became very apologetic and offered £ 20 off the bill and that the food could be 5 or 10 or 15 mins. I returned to my table and informed my wife what had happened, we agreed that if the food had not arrived before we had finished our drinks we would go. Just as we were about to leave the first dish arrived which consisted of 3 small pieces of stringy chicken on 2 skewers (1each) on a sizzling platter followed by some very sorry looking vegetables and stewed lamb in a very dark and salty sauce with a bowl of yung chow rice. In summary the food was at best mediocre the service was abysmal. £20 of the bill was not recompense for a disaster of a meal ,I would have much preferred to pay full price and get what I wanted!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redsoulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“worst chinese meal ever”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This restaurant was only half full but the wait for food was beyond belief . Dishes would appear randomly with no thought for the diner, my rice arrived a good 10 mins after my main !!. Dirty dishes could be seen piling up in the kitchen and the bar was crammed with unwashed glasses. This could be forgiven if the food compensated but sadly it didn't . My husbands meal was bland in the extreme and mine wasn't properly cooked.
The staff were uninterested and gave no service at all. We will not be going back

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank awandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Expensive, slow, dirty and miserable staff!!!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We went here family of 5 (3 young kids) arrived 5pm sat night, it wasn't busy to start with but the service was so slow and the young waitress was so miserable and obviously didn't like her job, the food was not brilliant although the steamed dim sim were good, we ordered set banquet for 2 with 2 portions of extra ribs with 3 soft drinks, 2glasses of wine and a pint of cordial it was £90 which is expensive for any Chinese, a pint of cordial was £3.50!!!
The window sills were filthy with dead flies on them and the toilets pretty grubby
We would not return and wish we had gone to New season round the corner!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trezise1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Emperor also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to New Emperor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing