We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great food, brill value for money!”
Review of New Emperor

New Emperor
Ranked #1,597 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great food, brill value for money!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We got an offer off Wowcher a few weeks ago, and decided to go on a Friday, early evening.

We'd booked a table (as advised) but found that there were plenty of tables available on arrival. We handed over the voucher, and wrote our email address and phone number as requested. The waitress returned a minute later to take our drinks order. She was half way through when she suddenly turned on her heels and disappeared back to the front door to seat another couple who had just arrived! She didn't apologise when she departed nor when she returned which was rather rude! A glass of white wine each was included in the offer, however we asked if we could change this to rose and this was agreed without extra charge.

Within 2-3 minutes we were served with a large bowl of soup to share and plenty of prawn crackers. The soup was piping hot and very tasty. This was followed by 1/4 peking duck and 6 pancakes with the onion, cucumber and sauce. No sooner had we finished, than our 3 main meals were served which consisted of 2 meat dishes and a veg dish, and a huge bowl of rice. We were then given a scoop of ice-cream each. We both have very healthy appetites, and were that full we didn't finish the rice, so the portion sizes are spot on.

All for the fab price of £19.99 for two, not each!

This was our first visit to the restaurant, and couldn't fault anything (other than the waitress disappearing half way through our drinks order) and would definitely return, especially if they ran the offer again.

To sum up, great food, great service, and a bargain price!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gygordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    62
    59
    42
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Average food and poor service”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

An early evening visit to this China Town restaurant was really chosen for its wheelchair access. (Which is excellent as all is on the ground floor with no steps, including the toilets). But having firstly encountered difficulty in making myself understood on the phone when booking to very indifferent and un-attentive service; I will not be returning. The dim sum were OK but the other dishes un-inspiring and dull. I love china town and expect something special. I have been in this restaurant before and had a good experience, perhaps they have become complacent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smithowlsmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Brilliant Dim Sum”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Eating out by yourself is a regular feature of business trips. And a variety of Dim Sum really fits the bill.
This is what I call a fantastic old fashioned Chinese restaurant. The decor is nothing too exciting but the place is characterful, clean and the food arrives promptly and is piping hot.
The Dim Sum menu had pleanty of authentic Chinese specialities which most Westerners can't manage to eat! But the more user friendly stuff was there too - Glutinous Rice wrapped in Lotus Leaves, Steamed Pork Buns, dumplings of many different varieties, paper wrapped prawns.
I love great Chinese food washed down with Chines tea. Next time I am in Manchester I shall head straight there!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank midasfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Made to feel second class citizen”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Was met with sign your wowcher with email address and phone number as can be conned
We sat there given cheap wine in tiny glasses. No idea what we were going to get. A sour faced waitress served tasteless prawn crackers and two empty soup bowls. Ten mins later the soup. Then soy sauce and cucumber. Had to ask where the duck was. Last course given again by sour faced waiteess. While we waited for all this Chinese Couple who came in after us were served and left before us . Food nothing special. Service misersble. Wont go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KalJen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service and wonderful food”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I ate in this restaurant last night and had an amazing meal. Good quality food and not too expensive either. There are lots of retaurants in China Town but i would rate this one highly. Happy friendly staff too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrispyduck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Emperor also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to New Emperor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing