We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The French

The French
Ranked #56 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $63 - $107
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Adam Reid at The French strikes the perfect balance between heritage and progressive cuisine. While the restaurant is steeped in history, our current menu offers modern British food that delivers consistently excellent flavours by using the best seasonal produce and the very latest technological advances. Married seamlessly to its new contemporary direction, the breathtaking dining room of this historic restaurant encompasses both the new and old, with undeniable opulence and timeless elegance. Stepping boldly into the 21st century, Adam Reid at The French offers outstanding levels of service, warmth and style, that in turn, create a relaxed and friendly atmosphere like no other in Manchester.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We went for my husband's 70th birthday (a present from our children) and had the 10 course taster menu. We were not offered a free drink as a previous birthday celebrant. We chose a lovely bottle of NZ sauv blanc and had a couple of glasses of special reds.

First impressions were poor, the decor was dull and there was no atmosphere. The atmosphere improved as the restaurant filled up and alcohol was consumed by all, but we were freezing! The air con was on full belt and even though we asked for it to be turned down, it kept coming back on so that even the next table of men in jackets asked for it to be turned down too.

Staff were lovely and very friendly and helpful. The food looked beautiful and it was not too much food as each course was minute, but we thought the ingredients were very ordinary (like the menu was done on the cheap) and not everything tasted as good as it looked. The most exotic item on our menu was a single langoustine on the fish course and a minute portion of very bland lamb for the main. Our fish course was undercooked and still opaque, though not enough to send it back. Some of the bread with the soup course was burnt. A couple of the canapes were cold in the middle. The Ox course was nice, but like someone else said, the coal oil taste was too strong and quite unpleasant. Most of the meal was made up of leaves and vegetables in various guises, some of which were delicious. Deserts were rather ordinary.

As we waited up to 20 minutes between courses, we became bored with the whole experience and as we had been eating for 3 hours and were being picked up, we had to leave before coffee.

Overall, we would not recommend it except as an experience. We watched the TV program where they said they were struggling with meeting their food cost and in our opinion, it showed. We will try Manchester House next.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Gillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    148
    69
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Six of us went to The French to celebrate my birthday. We all went for the 6 course taster menu and I also went for the wine pairing option.

On arrival we were shown to our table and seated quickly and efficiently, we were then given the menu's and a complementary drink because of the birthday boy, nice touch....

We were asked if anyone had any issue about the taster menu, one of our party had an issue with eel which was immediately replaced with another dish, again nice touch....

Generally all the courses were excellent and prompted discussion within our group, this is an experience and the whole meal took about 4 hours with is a refreshing change from being rushed.

OK so issues, generally the service was excellent but a few times we had to help ourself to wine which for a restaurant trying to attain a Michelin star is poor. On the wine pairing the wines were excellent and matched the courses well, but each wine was just served not explained why it had been chosen in the first place, again we have had wine pairing in other restaurants where it was explained and adds to the experience.

So in summary a fantastic experience and just needs attention to detail.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cerbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food glorious Food”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

food just kept on coming, chose the 6 course menu and glad didnt choose any more, as this was more than enough as had a free course as well....plus chocolates with our coffee (not included in the price). Very small plates just enough for two bites, but every course perfect. the service was great and the ambiance was good. unfortunately the rest of the hotel let it down, old and tired, the toilets looked like there had been a party in there, the restaurant needs its own separate toilets.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank warbomarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The food was absolutely fantastic. We chose the 10 course set menu and asked for no fish courses. The staff were fantastic and made sure that each course was perfect for us. Well worth the visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian911watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place for Anniversary”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

My wife & I spent a wonderful evening here for our 10th wedding anniversary. We had the turn course taster menu. Every course was fabulous, one was not great a bit too smokey, but the rest were amazing. We opted for a £22 bottle of French wine; some were really expensive, we thought it best to have two bottles instead of just one expensive bottle. The staff were very nice. The whole evening was very enjoyable but for one thing. There was a wedding in a suite near by and some very drunk man vomited so much the men's toilet was closed. Saturday Nights at hotels that are also wedding venues I guess. It didn't spoil anything for us.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JMJ-OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The French? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing