We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners I think.”
Review of Cord Bar

Cord Bar
Ranked #878 of 2,298 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Small Boutique Bar situated in Northern Quarter of Manchester, serving great cocktails and smiles to match.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New owners I think.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went in with friends from work. What a good night. Reasonably priced drinks and good atmosphere. Salford Pale Ale excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M1CK3YP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    19
    6
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Went for a meal on a voucher where we ŵere supposed to have a choice of stews, curry or goulash. On arrival we were told that the room we had booked was now no longer available despite speaking to the manager 2 nights before and were told then that it was sorted. We had 2 booths not ideal for a large group of people.
The menu consisted of corned beef hash or quorn hash and we were asked if we were vegetarian and when we said no then we no longer had a choice!
Overall dreadful even with the price tag of £5.18 it was too much don't waste your money go elsewhere!!

Helpful?
Thank Enjoyingthesun2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Food, not glorious food”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Having booked an evening meal - the crockpot deal. We were VERY disapppointed with what we were served. There was only 2 options - corned beef hash or quorn hash. It arrived not in a crock but a large shallow soup bowl, we were given a knife and fork to eat this soup like concoction. There was no corned beef but minced beef, very little potato and carrot. The crusty bread was an asda wholemeal roll. Even the £4.30 price tag was too much!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great pub, great music”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We visited this pub before a Morrissey gig in July 2012 and it was great. The music for the night was mainly Smiths/Morrissey due to the pub being full of people going to the gig, but I get the impression that this pub will always play great music. Met some very interesting characters including a mother of 10 kids.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keith_Morrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“hidden away...”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

nice bar, drinks are expensive but the atmosphere is really good. mid to late 20's tend to go and theyhave quizzes/offers on during the week.

Downstairs in the bar they have screens playing old movies occasionally which is nice. They also have themed evenings- have a look on their website for anything goes on in the night.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cord Bar also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Cord Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing