We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dinner options”
Review of Choice Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Choice Bar & Restaurant
Price range: $19 - $38
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Voted one of the top ten places to dine by the riverside by the Sunday Times, you’ll find Choice tucked away in a corner of Castlefield. The look is smart - cream leather seating, burgundy carpet and the exposed brick walls of the warehouse it once was. A friendly place, it prides itself on excellent food, wine and staff. Favourite staples of the largely seasonal menu are cottage pie, and Cumbrian lamb with colcannon potato and garlic and rosemary sauce. Excellent daily fish specials. Unusually, you can chose your wine from the walk in wine fridge. Occasional live piano music makes for even more atmosphere. Best table for two is number 17, by the arched window. A genuine destination restaurant.
Wales UK
Level Contributor
459 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Good dinner options”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Was taken here by a friend, it is just out of the city and a place I would not have found on my own. We were greeted by a very pleasant member of staff and quickly shown to our table. Opted for the Special which was really good value for money and tasty. Service was great, very polite and professional at all times. Would certainly go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Commz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    31
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Private Christmas Party - Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We had our works Christmas party here on 6/12/13 and have to say that the food was the best I've ever had at a private party for around 50 people. Jon was very good to deal with whilst organising it, and the staff on the night were very helpful and looked after us all extremely well. The atmosphere was just right too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samj3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“5 star food & service”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is definately a hidden gem in Manchester close to Deansgate Station so handy for other bars etc. I have eaten here several times now throughout the week from Saturday evening with live entertainment to Wednesday early evening and service and quality of food are consistantly very good also great cocktails look out for their offers and enjoy

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robsimmo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Average then disaster at dessert.”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Just visted Choice tonight with my veggie friend. Its great that you can just drive and park up at a city centre restaurant just make sure you read the signs properly as there are two car parks, one for weekdays and one for weekends. We had viewed the menu on the website before setting off but seeing the menu in the restaurant it was a little different, nothing to much though. The place was around a 1/4 full sunday 5pm, and a bit cold sat near the door. For a starter I had some sort of kipper (fish) cakes which were pretty nice, two golfball sized, deep fried in breadcrumbs with just a nice amount of kipper in them mixed with potato to be salty and tasty without being overpowering. Small handfull of rocket and a smear of curry mayo, not sure why, it wasn`t needed as there wasn`t enought to taste it. My veggie friend had mushrooms on toast with a over done duck egg on top spoiling it. Looked and tasted ok but by no means good.
The mains, I coundn`t resist the sunday lunch at a very reasonable £8.95. It was pretty good, roast beef pink in the middle and not tough at all, there wasn`t loads of meat, but what there was was all nice, tasty gravy too, yorkshire pud probably a little over done but that doesn`t matter to much. Roast veg was a bit of a let down as it was all diced up to the same size and all mixed together, there was also celery with that, which I`m not a fan of but thankfully you coundn`t pick out the taste. For a roast dinner at £8.95 you can`t really complain. The veggie had some sort of large beetroot and goats cheese felo pastry parcel, it looked very good and must of been as I didn`t get to taste any. The plate also had on it very long, thin and raw carrots, looks good but that wouldn`t be to my taste. By now we where both pretty stuffed and sure of got the bill and left fairly happy but we ended up ordering desserts.

A sample of desserts £7.50 which consisted of most but not all of the dessert on the menu that night four in all. A brownie which was dry and horrible, a treacle tart which was thin and burnt, a poached small half of a pear, it was nice but come on its a poached pear so what, and a creme brulee which was very nice but in a 2 inch shallow dish. All the desserts from this sample section were about a quarter of what you would expect from a dessert just served on a plate with no thought gone in to presentation.
Also we had the English cheese board with homemade chutney, now 3 small slices of cheese, one cheddar like, one blue, one white, a small pot of stewed red onions and 6 Carr`s table water crackers does not make a £7.50 cheese board in anyones book. I did ask for more crackers to finish my cheese and was given another 6.
The service was adequate, smooth and friendly, it did take a little while to get the bill and I had to ask at the bar, but there was only 2 serving to be fair, no one came to take our money so we just left and only when we were out of the door did someone say bye.

2 starters - 2 mains (veggie/sunday raost) - 2 desserts (cheese/sampler) - 2 fruit juice - 2 coffee. £60.40

We did get fed and no one died.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exemplary food & service”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were luck enough to land in Manchester on a Thursday when Choice offer a buy one get one free on all courses.
We sat down at the same time as a party of around 10 at another table and the staff said they would make sure our order was out before they got hung up on the large table, as it was they served all of us in a very short space of time.All the food we ordered was exemplary, a bargain at buy one get one free but we would quite happily return at full price. Please leave room for a desert as these were superb.
Staff were very friendly, attentive without being overbearing-we even noticed they waited until we had finished a mouthful before coming over and asking if everything was ok, only a small point but much better than the ones who circle a room just butting in.
Overall highly recommended and well worth patronising, oh and the location by the quays is very picturesque.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MickThrelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Choice Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing