We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place, just wanted to try the British tapas.”
Review of Choice Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Choice Bar & Restaurant
Price range: $19 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Voted one of the top ten places to dine by the riverside by the Sunday Times, you’ll find Choice tucked away in a corner of Castlefield. The look is smart - cream leather seating, burgundy carpet and the exposed brick walls of the warehouse it once was. A friendly place, it prides itself on excellent food, wine and staff. Favourite staples of the largely seasonal menu are cottage pie, and Cumbrian lamb with colcannon potato and garlic and rosemary sauce. Excellent daily fish specials. Unusually, you can chose your wine from the walk in wine fridge. Occasional live piano music makes for even more atmosphere. Best table for two is number 17, by the arched window. A genuine destination restaurant.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Love this place, just wanted to try the British tapas.”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We love this restaurant, and are regular visitors. We love the service, we love the food and think it is fantastic value for money. When we go for an evening meal or Sunday lunch, we keep looking at the British tapas options on the menu which are served during the day and have said for a longtime that on a sunny day when we can sit outside we must go choices and have the tapas, so today was the day. Glorious sunshine, tram into Manchester so we could have a drink, sat outside and ordered a refreshing Long Island ice tea. When I started looking at the tapas menu was told sorry the tapas isn't on today. Bitterly disappointed, so we ended up going home and cooking tea. I,m not going to score low however, because we still enjoyed going for a drink in the sunshine and every other time we have visited has been really enjoyable and this is still one of our favourite place to eat. So much so that we are a planning a visit for the new taster menu with accompanying wines, but will definitely check that it is going to be available before we set off.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rick1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    31
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chadderton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“brilliant !”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The service,ambience, food, drink and atmosphere are brilliant ! Must be in the nicest situation in Manchester as well. Not to forget Simon John and the team who look after you so well.A gem of a place, no wonder its been going for over 10 years. Nice to visit an independent rather than the many chains that are around in Central Manchester. Long may it last !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank irvsswerves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lucky we got past the starter”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The starter was dire we ordered the baked egg, I could have rolled it around the restaurant it was that hard
It's a good job the place was nearly empty as there were only two staff serving
I ordered roast beef dinner which was very good and bread and butter pudding was excellent
I think they need to realise there are other restaurants people can go to

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikkyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Thank God we have a choice”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Fairreviewer's reviews of San Carlo Manchester, and the Middle House, in Mayfield, Kent, should convince the reader that he is not,by nature, vitriolic. On the other hand, he is naturally suspicious of being taken to a famously empty Mancunian restaurant, on the dubious grounds that it is within a stone's throw of his best mate's Manchester pied-a-terre.

Positives, were three: the site is right next to the heart of the Industrial Revolution and for the aficionado of this period of history, it is truly fantastically interesting. Secondly, the maitre de was, obviously, an extremely nice man. Thirdly the house wine was perfectly ok.

But then, as Suetonius would say, come the horrors.

The chef should ask himself whether what was laid on the table would suit two lovers, a family gathering, men in suits, or, as in our case, four nice men having lunch as we do every couple of months. The answer is No Soreeeeeee.

Why is such a massive central Manchester property remaining open with no customers, apart from ourselves, who will not be returning?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fairreviewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Restaurant, Food and Staff...”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Visited here with 7 friends after the Manchester Marathon. As soon as we arrived the waiter (Simon we found out) offered us a seat in the bar and quickly got us sorted with drinks and menus. The restaurant was quiet after a busy lunchtime so we were quickly seated at our table and starters arrived. Food was hot and well presented and all of us said it was good. Mains were after with little fuss and all of us had a sweet which we struggled over choosing as lots of choice.
Simon was very attentive without being too in our faces. Nothing was too much trouble for him taking photos and topping up glasses and generally being very helpful.
We had a great evening, with lovely food and great service. Would recommend to anyone looking for a good meal in a great setting after a busy day running and supporting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Choice Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing