We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food & Great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Choice Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Choice Bar & Restaurant
Price range: $19 - $37
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Voted one of the top ten places to dine by the riverside by the Sunday Times, you’ll find Choice tucked away in a corner of Castlefield. The look is smart - cream leather seating, burgundy carpet and the exposed brick walls of the warehouse it once was. A friendly place, it prides itself on excellent food, wine and staff. Favourite staples of the largely seasonal menu are cottage pie, and Cumbrian lamb with colcannon potato and garlic and rosemary sauce. Excellent daily fish specials. Unusually, you can chose your wine from the walk in wine fridge. Occasional live piano music makes for even more atmosphere. Best table for two is number 17, by the arched window. A genuine destination restaurant.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food & Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Lovely little restaurant with a fabulous atmosphere. Menu is a bit pricy but the food is delicious and worth it. The bar area is small but has a lovely grand piano and often has singers in the weekends.

All in all would definitely recommend it to everyone especially for a special occasion. :-)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MonMon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    32
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
150 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“More people need to know about this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Choice has been around for years and every visit has been consistently excellent. Yet it's amazing how many people haven't tried it or even heard of it! If for no other reason, it's got its own car park so you won't be subjected to the scandalous post 6pm meter charges that the council has introduced in its "wisdom".

There is an excellent value Smart Choice early bird menu that's always available and there are regular deals on Manchester Confidential too. My friend and I bought the Festival 15 offer as part of the MFDF - 2 courses and a small glass of wine for £15.

The restaurant itself is welcoming, modern and cosy and the service is excellent. We were looked after by Elizabeth who I've seen there several times before - she is a fantastic hostess and even offered me a complimentary glass of Prosecco after I'd arrived late and stressed - totally unnecessary but a really lovely gesture. The Prosecco was the best I'd ever tasted - as was the homemade cheese and onion pie!

The only thing lacking is more customers. Although I am more than happy with a quiet dining experience, I don't want this place to fold so give it a go!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mariannelynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
256 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We went on a Friday evening with a large party from work. The food was excellent. The service was spot on. Both the food and the wines were excellent. This is a great restaurant and well worth a try.

Helpful?
Thank PhilipJepson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the rare genuine restaurant in Manchester”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Pretty surprised to see some of the reviews. Have been going there regularly for the past 6 years. Always a good standard and the ingredients are all sourced locally. Very nice waiters, always ready to help and make the experience pleasant for everyone.
The upholstery is needing change as a little bit tired. Overall a very good address: I have never ever been tired going there for 6 years!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ridiculous waiting times”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

It seemed like a lovely place, the menu looks fantastic and we were really excited to enjoy the meal. After starters, which went very well, everything was cooked perfectly and delicious, the mains came. The steak, asked for medium rare, arrived blue; after being sent back, it arrived again, this time barely rare (still leaking blood and only just about sealed!). The other dishes were good though, so 1 in 4 dishes isn't bad, we thought and ordered dessert. We waited, after seeing other people receive their starters and mains before our cutlery was even brought over we were a bit concerned and asked where the desserts were (after 35 minutes). The waitress informed us that the chef had specified 3 minutes and they apologised but they were understaffed, we were understanding and waited further. After 15 minutes, and other people's food still being served, we finally received our underwhelming and long overdue dessert (50-60 minute wait for dessert ALONE!) Definitely will never return and I would urge you to do so with caution. The poor service (they did not come over once in the time we were waiting until we approached them) and the waiting times make what could have been a lovely 60th birthday celebration, a really disappointing experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahFoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Choice Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing