We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work event”
Review of Barca

Barca
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 10/20
8:00 PM
Ranked #750 of 2,869 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $0 - $58
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Barca sits in the historic Castlefield area of Manchester city centre, famous for its Roman history, canals and large railway viaducts. This regenerated 19th Century Railway Arch was originally opened in 1996 and owned by Simply Red's Mick Hucknall. It benefited from a full refurbishment in April 2017 by its present owner . With its prime location and distinguished surroundings, Barca offers multiple bar areas and four private function suites ideal for any special occasion or event. They also cater for Weddings and are licensed for Civil Ceremonies. Barca serves a wide variety of drinks including cocktails from 11am and a great food menu from 12pm everyday. Barca boast one of the largest outside areas in Manchester city centre, This area is beautifully furnished with rattan garden furniture and is the perfect place to enjoy the Summer months.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We held a works event at Barca earlier this month for around 60 people. The events team throughout the whole booking process were so helpful, and helped us with every request. We had the VIP suite, which was a stylish room with a great balcony for us to use. We held a quiz, and on the evening the staff were excellent - getting us extra chairs, setting up additional tables and connecting our laptop to the TV. We had our own private bar which was fantastic, and there was plenty of food which was all great and served at the time we planned. Thanks for a great evening, we'll definitely look to hold more events here in future!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The service was ok, the music was crazy loud (in the restaurant area at 4pm) and food was awful. We ordered:
Calamari - fried so long it was a rock hard, tasteless lump
Patatas bravas - potato was ok but it was swimming in a tasteless, runny red sauce
Lamb koftas - dry as a bone
Chicken wings - rock hard, over cooked and dry
Salt and pepper chicken - the flavour was good, the chicken was over cooked and dry.
Sangria - weird, smoothie thing!

Not good and won’t be returning.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank EmmaMorganJJKieran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019

Genuinely cannot put into words how awful tonight's meal was. Think of THE worst meal you were given as a child, you know the one where you sat there at stand-off with your parents telling you that you HAD to eat it? It was worse than that. My husband said (in slightly less polite terms) "you know it's a bad meal when the best thing is the fried onions accompanying the chicken".

We were unsure if the calamari was in fact fish or just onion rings (the greasy/crispy type), the 'patatas bravas' slightly resembled what you would have expected and it wouldn't surprise me if the lamb koftas were from Aldi (I like Aldi Lamb Koftas but don't expected top be served them in a restaurant).

I don't think we should mention the sangria. The Spanish would be offended.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019 via mobile

Nice bar off the beaten track, lots of outdoor seating, really nice and bright inside. We had a Groupon for the tapas and a glass of wine, really good food, the halloumi fries and the feta cheese bites were amazing, staff really good, recommended

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank cavakaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Barca, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2019

Hello,

We are glad you enjoyed your time here at Barca. Hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019 via mobile

Came here with friends for food and drink. We ordered tapas and it was amazing! The food was delicious and came out very quick. The staff were lovely and went above and beyond to accommodate us. The atmosphere was great! We sat outside in the beer garden and it is beautiful. We ordered a few cocktails and they were lovely, food and drink was well worth the money! Also the bar inside is beautifully styled and has a really modern feel to it! This place is a gem! We had a great day here and we will definitely be back in the next couple of weeks!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank jessicavY7349EO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Barca, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2019

Hello,

Thank you for the great review! We're glad you had such a great time here at Barca! Hopefully we'll see you again soon for a few more cocktails!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barca also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Barca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing