We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs re-furb” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Edge Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Edge Manchester
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Needs re-furb”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

If it haddened been for Jim who let me in the flat and was so kind the reveiw would be written even worse!
On booking.com they don't tell you that you have to get a key from some mail box by a certain hour and then go to the Residence and let yourself in. Total nightmare. However Jim who looks after the flat was really kind and met me at the property and what ever I needed form the flat he was there to help.
The flat really needs an update. The furniture was really shabby, dirty and run down. The bathroom....well just look at the photos! The sheets of the bed were sinthetic!!! Good thing there was a big tv and wifi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    7
    3
    13
See reviews for
Families
0
10
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

We booked a 3 night break at The Edge to see a concert at the MEN arena and to explore Manchester. We booked through the hotel website and emailed the hotel with a couple of questions in advance of our stay and they were very quick to respond. We even got to check in early on the day and had a late check out on the day we left. The location is fantastic - 2 minutes walk from Deansgate, 3 minutes from the main shopping centres and probably the same distance to Spinningfields. It's also about 5 minutes walk to the MEN Arena, which for us was the main attraction. The quality the room was excellent. the apartment was really modern and very clean. The entrance lobby to the building and concierge/front desk is huge and quite impressive, but I guess you don't hang around a lobby during your stay! The apartment itseff was very nice. We stayed in a studio apartment, which was like a large hotel room room, but smaller than a normal one bedroom apartment. It had tea & coffee, kettle, toaster, fridge freezer, washer dryer, oven, microwave, hob etc., an iron and ironing board and hairdryer. It's really a 'self service' accomodation, since there is no onsite restaurant for room service and the concierge really only is there for security of the building and guests and to give directions, they don't really assist with bookings. Being right in the city centre with restaurants and cafes on your door step, there is no need for an on site restaurant anyway. Overall a great stay, made even better by the special 3 for 2 offer when we booked online at the time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaForbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

I stayed here recently for a conference and it was ideal really. No complaints. I got a great deal for a week's stay, worked out much better than a hotel and I could stock the fridge wtih my own stuff, it felt like a home from home for the week.
Location is excellent, just off Deansgate but in a quiet area behind the River. Nice big plasma tv, comfy bed, clean modern apartment. Free parking was included in the gated parking area as well so happy days!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesAdamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We booked this room with lastminute and it cost us £90. I was confident of the accommodation because my brother had lived on the apartments for a couple if years and he had no complaints. When we arrived the concierge refused to have anything to do with the booking as it was 'nothing to do with them'. They even refused to advise us on how we would be able to get hold of a key. We left the edge and Rang lastminute to be told that we should have contacted the agent prior to arriving. When we returned the conceriege refused to let us into the building!! When we finally managed to get in (we had to sneak in behind a resident as the management co had left a spare key in the apt) we found the room dirty and in poor condition. Mosaic tiles were missing from the shower and sink unit and the shower and microwave were filthy. We complained to lastminute and have received a partial refund. My advice...DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vivlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgeManchester, Manager at The Edge Manchester, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
This reviewer unfortunately did not read their check in instructions and turned up outside of normal opening hours late on a Friday night without prior arrangement, a requirement outlined clearly in the booking pages and booking confirmation. They then demanded to be allowed in to the property even though they had not collected the keys or notified us of their arrival late on Friday night. The concierge can not assist guests who do not have keys, and they are there primarily for the long term residents of the building. We tried to assist the guest despite this. I have pointed this out to the guest to try to resolve but they have not responded, which says all you need to know about the veracity of this 'review'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

We booked at the Edge on the recommondation of a friend who had stayed previously as we didn't really know Manchester. First impressions were excellent..this building is really swish as city apartments go. The lane you have to drive down to access it you could almost miss it, and could do with a bit better signage in fairness, but the actual building, the parking area, the lobby etc. were all top notch. The apartment we stayed in was quite a spacious studio apartment which had a large balcony. Having a nice bit of outside space in the city was a real bonus. The shower was lush and the kitchen, although quite small, was well laid out and had all the utensils and cookware we needed.

The apartment had a double bed and a double sofabed, and enough bedding for a family! The only downside is there is no room service or hotel breakfast since it is an apartment, but we had breakfast out the first day and bought some in the next day so not really an issue. We asked about this when we checked in and were told it is possible to pre-order a breakfast after booking, but we didn't bother in the end since we shopped for what we needed.

The best part of the apartment is the location. We were there for a concert and some shopping, and it is only a 10 minute walk to the MEN arena, so we parked at the apartment and walked across! Also it's really close to the big shops like Harvey Nichols and Selfridges and some the nicer bars in Manchester. Lovely overall.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahDenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2010

The positives of this apartment:

- It is situated very close to the centre of Manchester - good for the shops and nightlife.
- Apartment was furnished well with a balcony and a nice view of water features and grass verges below.
- Good sized bathroom with a plentiful supply of clean towels and complimentary toiletries.
- Kitchen had all the utensils you would need to cook in (which we did), lots of glasses and a full box of teabags.
- Lots of wardrobe space.

The negatives of this apartment:

- The main drawback was the collection of the keys for the apartment. We had to wait on a street corner in some back streets of Manchester for the man who arrived late to turn up to open an office (which itself looked run down). He opened the office up and then locked the door and took us up to the next floor in the lift. This is not a safe way to hand over the keys especially to a group of young females and we did feel worried and unsafe that it was not all kosher. I would not book the apartment again on this reason alone. A better way to hand over the keys needs to happen - somewhere that is not in a run down closed office block in the back streets of Manchester. Why we could not be met at the apartment with the keys since the man had to travel into Manchester to give them to us we do not know! The man was very helpful and gave tips on where to go in Manchester so it is nothing against him personally - we would say the same meeting any stranger in a deserted office block! Giving the keys back was easy though - we were told to lock the door and then just post them back into the apartment.
- We were told that many people lived in the apartments on a more permanent basis and the concierge did not appreciate them renting out the apartments for a night or two at the time, so why the concierge is advertised on The Edge website apartments is questionnable, and this did not make us feel very welcome.
- The apartment size itself was 'cosy'. The apartment was supposed to be big enough for 4 people, but it was more adaquate for 2 people and although there was a nice big flat screen television in the apartment, it was positioned at an awkward angle so that you could not really watch it from the sofa, but had to instead sit on the edge of the bed which had a hard edge and was difficult to sit on.

We payed around £135 for the night for this apartment. I would say that this is a little overpriced considering the size of the apartment but it is in a good location and is stylish.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheHonestTravellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEdgeManchester, General Manager at The Edge Manchester, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Thanks for your feedback. We have changed the key swap arrangements now and we do a meet and greet for all guests outside the front gate to the property, which hopefully should address any concerns. It also means should you have any questions about the property or the area, they can be addressed there and then where possible.

Many thanks again for your constructive feedback,

We hope to see you back.

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

Just got back from stayng in the Edge apartments just off Deansgate. My friend booked it for her birthday. It was originally 4 girls when she booked a month ago, but we wanted to add one more on, so she called the Edge number from the website who said they would get the 'owner' of the apartment to contact us/ A daylater the 'owner' text my friend to say an extra person was fine for no extra cost but we would need to bring a blow up bed as the apartment only slep 4 (1 double bed and 1 double sofa bed).

We arrived at the Edge all excited with our booking confirmation and was soon told by the concierge that they had no record of our my friends name and we would have to contact the owner to get them to call the concierge desk so they coudld release the keys. Luckily we had his number from the text but what would we have done if my friend didnt have it? We called the owner , he didnt answer so we left a message, he called us back after about 30 mins and all was then fine.

We were not told where to park so we just presumed that the room number was the same as the car parking space, so we parked in that. We later found out that the car parking space numbers do not coralate to the room numbers and we could have got clamped or blocked in, so be careful to ask which car parking space is yours.

When we got into the room it was clean and modern, it was small for 5 girls but we werent in there long and it was very close to everything,. Pefect location, nice modern apartment, but not very well organised.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sezboshep82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.0 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#48 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Place Aparthotel
The Place Aparthotel
#35 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Reserve ApartHotel
La Reserve ApartHotel
#7 of 81 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Heart Apartments - MediaCityUK
0.0 mi away
The Light ApartHotel
The Light ApartHotel
#1 of 81 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edge Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edge Manchester

Property: The Edge Manchester
Address: Clowes Street, Manchester M3 5NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Edge Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edge Manchester is an exclusive, Ben De Lisi designed, premium apartment development in Manchester City Centre, with high specification fixtures and fittings. We specialise in short let apartments, which are ideal for business and leisure travelers. Looking for a central location, with free parking and more space and privacy and a fraction of the cost of a hotel room? Look no further. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Edge Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing