We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Ranked #48 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Very Good Value”
Reviewed March 5, 2009

This hotel is very easy to find, a 5 minute walk away from Piccadily Station. Reception was speedy and room was lovely, clean, and quiet. My bathroom only had a shower, and though I like to indulge in a bubble bath, the shower was very refreshing and powerful. The sauna and steam area were excellent and free to hotel guests. I did not try the spa.

Breakfast was very fresh and tasty, though there were no hash browns - a minor point.

Overall an excellent hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiggertigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_9, Guest Services Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2009
Many Thanks for taking your time to complete a review. I am Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will return to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,250
    1,868
    919
    394
    240
See reviews for
535
2,493
233
1,302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

One of the best hotel experiences we've had. Friendly staff and wonderful dinner in the restaurant. Great room too, spacious and modern with a king size bed! Breakfast was pentiful and hearty. This rates much higher than 9th best hotel in Manchester. We stayed in the Aurora on our 2nd night which is rated 4th and its heaps better than that one.
One to return to.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxieslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_9, Guest Services Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2009
Thank you for review – I am delighted that you would stay at the hotel Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2009

We stayed here for one night as a 'get away' from home. We booked through late rooms websiteand got a great deal.
The room was very big, I think they have knocked 3 rooms into 2, to allow extra space. We had a kingsize bed, sitting area, desk, tv, and a large bathroom, with 2 sinks, separate shower and bath. Nice touch was complimentary mineral water in the room.

The spa was small, and quite busy with a hen party. There is no pool (expedia says it does have a pool) but a few different rooms, such as infra red, sauna, steam, ice (!). It's enough to keep you occupied for an hour or so, and is included in the price.

The location was great- we walked to Picadily gardens for shopping, and to Malmaison for dinner (not that great!).

One thing to improve- a clock-radio so you know what time it is!
Overall I loved this room an hotel, and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ber24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_9, Guest Services Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2009
Thank you for your kind comments. I shall inform the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2009

I stayed here 2 night, hotel is very nice and in great location, there was a large group checking in at the time of arrival and was told we had to use the stairs at the back of the bar as the lifts were being used... So much for all guests being treated the same.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimblebub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_9, Guest Services Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2009
Thank you for your feedback and comments. I must assure you that I have taken the matter very seriously and have ensured that the necessary action has been taken in order to prevent any reoccurrence of such a situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

Stayed here for one night on 14th Feb with my husband in an executive room on a special DBB rate that included a late checkout ‘til 4pm on the Sunday.

The first room (353) we checked into had a really strong smell of smoke (and not ordinary cigarette smoke I might add). We phoned down to reception and someone came up and sprayed the curtains with a really strong de-odouriser which made us both cough a lot! As the windows don’t open, you can’t really air the room so she arranged for us to be moved to another room straight away (653). This one smelt fine and had a better view as it was higher up!

The room was lovely and big, comfy bed and pillows, with all amenities as described on the Macdonald website. Bathroom was great too, with two sinks, separate big bath and big, powerful shower and good selection of toiletries etc. I like the ‘night light’ under the sink too, so you don’t have to put the main bathroom light on if you get up in the night for the loo (which I do a lot at the moment as I’m pregnant!) The only slight disappointment was there was no bathrobe and slippers as described on the website.

We ate dinner in the hotel, which was nice, not amazing, but very tasty and filled us up. The only downside to dinner was some silly girl whose mobile phone rang which she then proceeded to answer and talk rather loudly on. Obviously not the fault of the hotel, but a pet hate of ours – mobile phones in restaurants should be banned! Other than that, a nice atmosphere in the restaurant and friendly staff. Although the lady who asked if we wanted coffee did not understand my saying that neither of us drank coffee, but we’d still have the petit fours as described on the menu… she then said “do you still want coffee” again, so I just gave up and said no thanks! We were eating late, so I guess they must’ve had a busy service as it was Valentine ’s Day, but our food still came out promptly and was cooked to our liking.

Breakfast was lovely, we took full advantage of nearly everything on offer. Again, staff were friendly and helpful and we both enjoyed our food very much.

We both had massages booked in the spa on the Sunday, which were great. The girls there were really friendly and professional – again, I imagine they must’ve been really busy with everyone wanting to be pampered for V-day. However, when we got back to our room neither of our key cards worked. They appeared to have been deactivated as it was after normal check-out time, not taking into account our pre-booked late check out. A member of cleaning staff had to let my husband in to our room.

All in all a pleasant stay, nice big room and very quiet. Helpful staff. Exactly what we were after for a relaxing, and de-stressing weekend. Good location right next to Piccadilly train station and only a short walk into the city centre for the great shopping, bars and restaurants of Manchester. We know the area very well, but I still think it would be easy to find the hotel and your way around, even if you don’t know Manchester. When we initially arrived and left our bags before ‘official check in’ the lady on reception asked if we needed directions into the centre, which was a nice touch, even though we didn’t! Wish we could have stayed longer, only a couple of very minor things as mentioned prevent me from giving a '5-rating' Keep up the good work Macdonald Hotels :o)

  • Liked — Great location. Big, quiet and comfy room.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_l0cket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_9, Guest Services Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2009
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2009

We stayed for one night here & booked it through Laterooms.com. The hotel website gives you the Post Code to enter into your Sat Nav & this direct you straight into their car park. Parking for one night is approx £12, payable on checkout. On arrival, we booked a special breakfast rate at reception for £10 each instead of £17.50. Friendly, pleasant staff. Good security in place - you have to swipe your door card to get onto your floor. We were upgraded from a standard room to an executive double - lovely large room, with 2 double beds, big bathroom with fab shower & seperate bath. The beds were unbelievably comfy & my partner loved the pillows so much, we checked out the manufacturer & ordered some online when we got home! Flat screen TV, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, mini bar, huge windows...loved it! Only a few minor niggles, we didn't have any shower gels or soap in the bathroom - had to ring housekeeping & the Spa i.e. steam room. sauna is very, very small for a hotel of this size - it was cramped/busy & there were not that many people in it - there are only two heated tiled loungers & you would be very lucky to bag one. The changing rooms for the Spa have too few lockers, I was told to just take my clothes/shoes in with me by Spa Reception??? er I don't think so, I waited a few mins & was eventually passed a locker key by a lady who was leaving - but overall a very pleasant stay at this hotel & it's only about 10 mins walk to the City Centre & shops.

  • Liked — The good sized room/bathroom & location
  • Disliked — spa
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SherlockTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_9, Guest Services Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2009
Thank you for your review, I shall share your experiences with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2009

Stayed here when we went across for football match. Its literally around the corner from Picadilly station which runs straight to the airport and also to Old Trafford station by metro. Rooms are very spacious, modern and tastefully done. The bathroom is huge! Breakfast was one of the tastiest ever! Staff were very professional and the 'man city supporter Receptionst!!' was extremely pleasant, helpful and professional. Will definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone.

Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EmmaH37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_9, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 9, 2009
Thank you for your kind comments, I will ensure that they are passed onto my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.9 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#44 of 116 in Manchester
4,258 reviews
0.7 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 116 in Manchester
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#18 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#29 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#42 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing