We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pre concert meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Ranked #52 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night as we were going to concert at the O2 Apollo. We travelled to Manchester by train and the hotel was only a couple of minutes walk from Manchester Piccadilly station. Our room was near a lift as I had requested and was spacious and clean with comfortable beds. It had all that you could want...even an iron and ironing board.

I had arranged a pre concert meal for eighteen at the Scottish Steak Club restaurant. Thanks must go to the restaurant manager and his team for making our get together such a success. They were very friendly and helpful. Two of our party had to leave early and six were delayed for half an hour but all our meals were served quickly. The meals were delicious and well presented and it was the perfect start to a wonderful evening.

I almost didn't book breakfast as it seemed very expensive but I'm pleased I did. It was excellent...plentiful and freshly cooked.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maigold47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Maigold,

Thanks so much for your kind review it is appreciated and shows the work in planning your stay as well as delivering a meal for a large group of guests can be done in a manner that assists with the needs of our guests.

I'm so pleased that our Maitre D', Chef and our hotel team generally added to what I hope was a great experience for you and your friends whilst in Manchester.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,857 - 4,863 of 6,165 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for one night in a superior double double room.
I assume the rate was £100 pounds plus over the odds because a certain Robbie Williams was in town - but really - if you are going to charge £221 (yes £221) for one night then surely you have a duty to ensure that the room is at least basically clean? It looked like the bathroom had been cleaned but nothing else. Shame on you Macdonalds.

On a practical level I agree with most other reviews - car park is impossible to find, the beds are comfy, the rooms are surprisingly quiet given the location and the breakfast is good.

If I'm ever back in Manchester I'd probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Susan,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us and for your kind comments although to be fair having looked through your other reviews value seems to be a constant that you are looking for within your hotel experience and I can only apologise if you felt that we were too expensive. With the caveat that you may have booked late and so been subject to a busy city with a finite number of bedrooms and plenty of demand given what was going on in Manchester. My advice would always be to book early or use our Brand website as that offers the best rates possible in the Market.

I'm most disappointed as you felt that the room that you occupied wasn't to the standard you expected and so please be assured that I will ask our Executive Head Housekeeper to look into the matter urgently as we have a reputation for delivering immaculately presented bedrooms as a norm.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We booked directly with the hotel - they advised they only had the one room left which was a £225 per night adapted room on the 7th floor they reduced the rate by £20 as a gesture of goodwill as we didn't require an adapted room.
The room was really big and clean but in need of an upgrade, everything seemed dated; the toiletries were cheap and very basic.
We tried to order room service in the evening but after several attempts of the call ringing out we gave up.
We then received a letter from the management advising that the hotel was full so to expect queues for breakfast the next morning - they suggested we should try to get down early! Surely a city centre hotel should be running a normal service when full?

Overall the hotel stay was ok but for £200 plus for just one nights stay there are much nicer hotels in Manchester.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJ676_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us and for your kind comments. To be fair I don't think we can do right for wrong with regards to your feedback. As you were aware before booking we only had one room left and reduced the charge for you when I imagine it would have been right at the last minute to book when the rest of the city was full and charging way beyond what we asked you.

Our polite notice about breakfast is what it is designed to be a very polite but we hope proactive way of letting guests know if they do get up a little earlier then they will avoid the inevitable busy period for a Hotel breakfast (from 09.15hrs). To be fair breakfast on Sunday went really well (as it normally does) with service delivered as normal but please don't have a go at the team for letting guests know as much about our services as possible as it defeats our object of always attempting to deliver great service.

Genuinely we're constantly on a mission to see what else we can do to improve a guests stay and although your email won't put us off simple actions like lowering the rate in line with our guests needs and reaffirming with guests that there is the opportunity to relax and enjoy their breakfast by coming down to enjoy it during the least busy periods are some of the ways that we do this. They're also things that less responsive hotels don't bother with so as I said we can't do right for wrong sometimes but that's hotels for you.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is our second visit to the Macdonald at Piccadilly, Manchester. The hotel rooms are lovely and spacious with great views of the city if you have one that faces out. The hotel staff are very friendly and you even get a bath and double shower in your room which is quite rare in most hotels.

The only let down from this hotel was that they charge £17.50 to park your car overnight which we thought was seriously overpriced. They also advertise free wi-fi but you would struggle to access the Internet at all from your room and would probably have to sit down in the reception area.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dicko28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Dicko,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and for your kind feedback it is appreciated.

With regard to our parking I do know that we offer secure parking with a valet service literally on the doorstep and that in comparison to other hotels it is significantly less expensive. I'm aware if you didn't know that already then you may assume it as expensive in spite of the hotel being in the heart of the city however please be reassured that we are extremely competitive and uniquely secure when it comes to guest car parking.

Kind regards and thank you once again.

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just back from an overnight stay to see Robbie Williams at the Etihad stadium, we experienced similar problems to other reviewers re parking as the car park is so difficult to find !! But it's really secure and quite big once we actually found it, we weren't supposed to be able to check in until 3pm but our room was ready when we arrived at 11.30am so checked in early :) the hotel was lovely and clean and in an ideal location - right next door to Piccadilly train station and the tram stops, and only 10 mins walk to the Arndale Shopping Centre which had a good variety of shops to look around. We were around a 25 min walk to the Etihad stadium which wasn't too bad, and the staff gave us a directions and marked it clearly on a map for us to follow - the staff were extremely helpful and very friendly, will definitely return here as there is so much to see and do in Manchester. Drinks in the hotel were really expensive (around £14 for a pint of lager and a glass of rose) we didn't use the spa this trip so can't comment on that, the room was a good size (superior double on 8th floor) and the bed was large and really comfy :) overall we were really pleased with the hotel and our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duffs69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Kazduff,

Many thanks for your kind comments and for taking the time to review us it is appreciated. I'm sorry that you found our secure car park difficult to find although as you will know it is perfectly placed just 10 metres from the hotel but subject to the city's one way system. The easiest way to get to it is to get directions prior to arrival and if necessary put the postcode into your Sat Nav (if you have one) or simply call the hotel and our team will guide you in.

That said I was really pleased that you enjoyed yourself whilst in Manchester and now know that it is a 'go to' City with lots on and even more to do.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My views are that this type of hotel does not have to try too hard as they always seem to be busy, parking was very difficult to get to, checking in was good and efficient, room was clean and had all the requirements you need to be in a hotel room for a night.
Good city centre location bla bla bla
It's just hotels of this nature just seem to have no SOUL, aren't they all the same now a day?
Would i stay again yes
RAM

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ram-ram-ram-ram-ram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear reviewer,

I can see comments throughout your other reviews that you feel that some establishments should try harder and so if you found ours with a need to do so then I can reassure you that we will take your kind feedback and redouble our efforts to ensure every guests stay is exceptional.

That said I was pleased to see that our interaction and facilities were to your satisfaction and that generally we delivered but as you've said there is no room for complacency that we should ensure all of our guests enjoy a faultless stay.

Kind regards and we look forward to your return.

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed over at the MacDonald Manchester hotel the other night whilst my wife and I (and most of Manchester) went to see Robbie Williams.

The reception staff were a little bit frosty - they said all the right things but their manner conveyed that we were a bit of an inconvenience. Contrast that with the room service chap who brought us a round of toast (at no charge) to our room at gone midnight - he was very friendly and helpful - someone should get him to give some tips to front of house.

We stayed in room 602. It was a panoramic room looking over the station. Perfectly comfortable and no real problems. There were some poor finishes (see pics) around a room that was generally to high standard (the shower was great). Like lots of hotel rooms you didn't have to look too hard to find dirt and dust in the less accessible places (behind the desk was thick with dust) but generally I wasn't complaining.

We stayed for breakfast which was served buffet style. It was ok, but only ok - all a bit mass produced and rushed - table management seemed a bit flustered but it was a busy day in a city centre hotel. Again, not a real problem but a little short of being made to feel special.

The main niggles were that my satnav couldn't find the car park on the postcode they gave. That could be a problem with TomTom but some clearer directions would have been appreciated. I also didn't like the fact that you had to pay a fee to use wifi. Given the cost of the rooms free wifi should come as standard.

All in all a comfortable stay if you've got other things to do in the city but not the one for you if your looking for a relaxing romantic break.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear Matthew,

Many thanks for your kind review I'm not sure how I missed replying to it however I can confirm that the task with the electrical socket was repaired quite a while ago as has the impetus to deliver immaculate bedrooms further improved so we get to every nook and cranny. Finally I am delighted to say that we have complimentary WiFi as a standard now as I agree with you it is essential these days.

The best post code to use for the car park is M1 2AR Berry Street as it bring you to our car park direct which as you know is only 10 yards from the hotel.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your return sometime soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#34 of 120 in Manchester
2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,185 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#18 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#29 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#42 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $94 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing