We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location next to Piccadilly station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Ranked #51 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Nice and efficient business hotel. Good location. Everything in Manchester downtown can be reached on foot. The spa and particularly the saunas are nice. The room was big and the bathroom too. My room was facing east and it did get quite hot in the late morning. The aircon wasn't working. Parking is next to the hotel in a gated area and costs 17.50 for hotel guests. No free wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby. Front desk staff could be more friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the elevators. The hotel is huge and you can walk 100 meters to your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Alex,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind feedback. I can reveal that free wifi is soon to become a reality and that it will improve an already excellent hotel experience as you have mentioned.

If I can just amend your title in that we are not just a good location for Piccadilly Station but the best possible and as you mentioned within easy reach of all that is Cottonopolis.

Many thanks once again and we look forward to your return.

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,949 - 4,955 of 6,192 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

I get to stay in Manchester about once a month and wouldn't choose anywhere else. The rooms are all excellent - modern and good sizes. Handy and safe car parking - a superb restaurant (if a bit pricy) comfortable bar and location if not totally central is close enough. BUT the jewel in the crown here are the staff - every one of them is friendly, knowledgable, well trained and very helpful - well done - the only small issue I have is that the wi-if isn't available in the rooms, although Internet is if you have a cable to plug in - my i-pad doesn't have one! Never mind - Recommended.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear John,

Many thanks for your kind words and for taking the time to review us. Thanks also for your continued loyalty to our hotel. I can reveal that your request for us to offer free wifi is about to become a reality!!!!

Watch this space as it'll help to continue to improve your customer experience and please be assured that where you see an opportunity for us to improve we are working hard to ensure it happens as soon as possible.

Thank you once again and see you soon.

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Have stayed here twice once with my husband and just last week with my 21 year old daughter, The trip with my daughter was to see McFly play at the Apollo which was just a 3 minute taxi drive away, you could walk but we did not know the area well enough to do this. Hotel is well located, railway station just round the corner, shops a few minutes away. Room was big, clean, bathroom was a good size with a bath and a shower cubicle, the shower was amazing. Staff were friendly and helpful. We did not eat at the hotel but did have a couple of drinks at the bar, drinks are a little on the expensive side but we were expecting this.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manxpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Polly,

Thanks for taking the time to review us and for your continued loyalty and kind custom all are appreciated. Aye we're ideal for the Apollo as the closest hotel for all that is happening there and also perfectly placed for the city centre as you know.

Our rooms are top quality so thank you also for letting others know just what you get for your money; I honestly don't believe we can be beaten on any of our offers!

All the very best and I hope your return journey went without a hitch and that we see you again sometime soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I spent two nights in the MacDonald Hotel and Spa in Manchester with my wife for an anniversary treat. The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the main line Piccadilly train station and even closer to the Piccadilly tram stop.
It is a large hotel catering mainly for business travellers but also ideal for couples. Our city view room on the 6th floor was large and luxurious with all the amenities you would expect from a 4/5 star hotel. The bathroom was equally large and well appointed. Facilities were spotless throughout.
All the staff we met were professional, helpful and cheerful, whether on reception, at the bar or in the restaurant. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
However, the best part of our stay was the food. We had breakfast included, so not sure how much it cost, but it was excellent. Unfortunately we spent too much time eating and drinking so we never got to the Spa.
I would recommend a stay in this hotel if you ever need to visit the city of Manchester.

Room Tip: Paying a little extra for a city view room is well worth it. Night time views of the city are stunni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartP1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Stuart,

Thanks so much for your kind review and I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your room and the quality of our food offerings; both are what we believe sets us apart from our competitors.

I agree also that we are particularly lucky with our location at the heart of the city and I'm so pleased that you have highlighted this for future guest awareness.

Many thanks once again and of course we look forward to your return sometime soon.

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

An excellent hotel well situated literally one hundred yards from Manchester Piccadilly rail station. Full freeview on the TV, excellent internet coverage & speeds in the rooms by both wireless or DSL cable (if you forget a cable they will lebnd one in reception), and excellent wireless coverage everywhere else. Even have Bose docking stations for iPod/iPhone

Very good breakfast.

Very good attentive staff.

Bar is a bit pricey but it is a hotel after all.

Picadilly Gardens (which is basicaly the city centre) is about 200 yards away.

(tip for rail travelers - as you come off the rail platform look to your left and you will see the signs for taxis. Follow those and as you leave the building the hotlel is the big black curved building about 100 yards away.)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy 'Red Willy... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Andy,

Thanks so much for your kind words and for taking the time to review us. Really pleased that you enjoyed yourself and thank you for telling others all about our offerings, the quality of our rooms and our perfect location at the heart of the city.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights,hotel in good location 2minutes walk from train station.allocated room on the 8th floor as requested,lovely big room ,great bathroom and very quiet.Breakfast was very good quality and staff friendly and efficient,would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 533jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Jane,

Many thanks for your kind review it is appreciated and I have to agree with you that all of our rooms are very special and that we're perfectly located for the station and the heart of Manchester.

Thank you for letting the team know that you really enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return sometime soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

What a great place my wife and I spent a romantic spa break here. Great value or money we did not leave the hotel. We had a evening meal in the steak house which was brilliant the service was absolutely great staff we great also. My wife went veg and had the mushroom paste and I had the fillet steak with a blue cheese sauce from start to finish was absolutely great. The next morning my wife had her spa treatments which she loved while I spent some time chilling in the thermal suites which were great only down side no jacuzzi but can't have it all staff were great in the spa also. The finishing touches by the staff were great. Cannot forgot the rooms absolutely great full size bath separate shower nice king size bed only down side was the tv in the room is way to small!! Only pro I could find. Breakfast is a must here a great selection teas and coffees everything you could ask for and the chef can creat whatever egg style you require and for £2.50 extra you can have salmon eggs Benedict or a few other things which is good value also. All in all a great place my wife and I will be back in the future

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Marc,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us it is appreciated and so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. Please be assured that we are working towards delivering consistently great stays as always and ever improving all that we do.

It goes without saying that we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#35 of 120 in Manchester
2,592 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#45 of 120 in Manchester
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#18 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#42 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $95 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing