We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Ranked #49 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Galway
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient and comfortable.”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Rooms were comfortable... staff very helpful... Bar food could have been fresher, for the price... Breakfast excellent though. Convenient location right beside train station and O2. Very clean and quiet room. complimentary internet and facilities were handy too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBoyle091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear BBoyle091,

Many thanks for your kind words and for taking the time to review us it is appreciated. I take note of your views on our Lounge Menu and will get the team onto ensuring that it is always excellent. Really happy that you enjoyed our breakfast which is a very special offer in the city. Thanks also for highlighting your pleasure at the rest of your stay at our hotel.

The team do all they can to exceed guest expectations so on your next visit we'll look to deliver an even better time for you and to that end please feel free to get in touch when you're planning on returning as I'd be delighted to assist.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,292
    1,900
    948
    407
    252
See reviews for
567
2,518
239
1,354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (746)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many times and all the rooms are very nice but you will pay for that (there are cheaper hotels with just as good rooms)
The best rooms are family rooms on the end of the floor with nice big windows across 2 walls with great views of the city (they are quite a walk away from the lifts though).
The hotel is quite a walk away from the city centre but is good for the main train station.

Room Tip: Book a family room if you can .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Legin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Legin M,

And long may you continue to use us going forward!!

Thank you for your ongoing loyalty and please be assured that we are as keen to make your next stay with us as good if not better than any of your previous ones.

Kind regards and we look forward to your return

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The location has it's positive and negative side, it's great for the traveller (rail and road) but doesn't even manage to give you a good view of the city - which does actually have some lovely sights. I had some trouble locating the car park, my sat nav was convinced I could go down a one way street the wrong way, but once there, it feels very secure. The service is fine, in days when everyone is cutting staff, they seem to have maintained some standards. Rooms are of a good size, almost too large if you wanted to watch TV from the bed, but that's a minor niggle in a room that has controllable temperature, is clean, well kitted out and has an excellent bath room with both a large bath and separate good sized shower cubicle (so much better than a shower over a bath with a dodgy curtain). Mind you, as a business hotel, it should be able to manage free wifi.
Breakfast was freshly cooked, tasty, plentiful and varied. This came as a surprise considering the extremely poor quality of the meal we had had the night before. The main restaurants may be different, but we had a corporate, pre-ordered meal and it really spoilt the generally overall good impression of the place. Most of the food wasn't worth eating and some of it was downright horrible. So, my advice, you are surrounded by great restaurants in Manchester - go to one of those. Oh, and don't have a drink in the bar unless you want to pay London prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nem_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear New_4,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us and I've asked (you) for a little more information as you will see about your dining experience as I've recieved nothing lately other than all of our food offerings are high quality and really well delivered. So if you pass on the details of your stay I will investigate further and get back to you; which is the minimum I'm sure you ould anticipate.

That said we are actually working on making our hotel the best in the city for Banqueting and Dining as we have every reason available to us to accomplish this so your review is very timely thank you.

We do have great views of Manchester a City which continues to retain its charm from the days when it was the Empires Industrial powerhouse however I agree it can be a ittle acquired in terms of perspectives if you are looking for anything other than a great view of Cottonpolis.

Just to tidy up access to the internet remains complimentary in all of our rooms so it may be the platform that you were using as all's you need to do is plug and play in our bedrooms via a Laptop or similar and one item I am reassured about is that our pricing policy not only matches city centre hotel competition but also the bars and restaurants that neighbour us; London prices from my experience anyway we aren't.

Most pleasing was to read our commitment to service delivery and the fact that we do ensure we have staff in every department both visible and capable of looking after a guests needs immediaely; that is our standard and something others tend to struggle with.

In closing for where you have highlighted an opportunity to further improve please be assured that we are onto matters already and for where you have praised our great team I can only thank you and I will be in touch post your further feedback back to me to let you know what I have done about the items you have raised.

Many thanks once agan

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Very central location, rooms very spacious and comfortable and all at very reasonable prices! Great place to stay for city trip or as a stopover!
Bar food was decent, didn't try the restaurant.
View not very exciting, but nice nonetheless because of the big windows.
Did I make up the required 200 characters yet?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winterangel48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear winterangel48,

Thank you for takng the time to review us and for you kind comments they are appreciated and of course we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed one night for business. This hotel was very conveniently located with 2 minutes of Manchester Piccadilly train station.

Service was pleasant at reception for both check in and check out.

My room was of a very good standard, with a very nice bathroom, sensible layout and huge windows. Unfortunately the view was not deserving of the large windows but this can't be helped.

The room was tidy and a good standard with no need for maintenance (so often the case with 4 star hotels).

I did not have a chance to eat at the restaurant or use the spa facilities so I can't comment on these.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Richard,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for all you comments they are appreciated. So pleased our great team looked after you and that you felt our rooms and attentive staff made your experience all the better.

We'd be delighted to see you back here soon were I'd encourage you to try out Manchesters finest Breakfast or dinner in our Scottish Steak Club both of which I'm sure would further exceed your expectations.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Seems to be a fairly new hotel. Good service throughout. The rooms are of a high quality and spacious.
When booking i asked how close to the apollo venue and was told 10 minutes walk and that was spot on. You would be amazed how many times we have been told a "fib" about this type of information from other hotels about location to venues etc. So thank you.
Reception staff excellent. Bar staff when we returned at about 11pm (ish) were under pressure but
maintained a smile and courtesy.
Would stay again and recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: we stayed on the top floor and had a view over the railway, but not to bothered, but might suit a tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tthefourthcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear thefourthcord,

Thanks so much for your kind review and yes we are the closest hotel to the Apollo so a natural haven for all you people that know where the best music venue in Manchester is.

Great to read that you were really pleased with our hotel and our superb team and that you'll be back here soon.

Keep on rocking!!! and thank you once again

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is located brilliantly for a weekend shopping! Its right next to Piccadilly and less than a 10 min walk from town (so not far to carry all the bags!) We didn't eat in the hotel and so I cant comment on the food but there was plenty of restaurants, pubs and clubs all within walking distance.
The room was huge and had everything in it you could need and I was very quiet. The bathroom was also great and very clean.
The staff were friendly and efficient and although we arrived early we were shown to our room straight away.
We had a nosy at the gym and it looked good but neither of us used it.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a central base in Manchester.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica_iom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Jessica,

Thanks for your kind comments and review they are appreciated. Great to read that the team looked after you and that we'll be your port of call whilst in Manchester in the future.

All the best

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.7 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#7 of 117 in Manchester
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#18 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#29 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#42 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing