We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 Day Business Meeting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Ranked #47 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“1 Day Business Meeting”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The room was nice, I don't like the refillable bottles that they put tap water in to. I much prefer sealed bottles of mineral/spring water. Tea and coffee area was nice, well stocked, though the flat jacks/ pasties were few and far between, not everyone got one. Lunch was a little mismatched, with nothing really going together. The potatoes were old, the service was rushed, and the staff quite rude. A little rapport building would be a good idea for them I think! I wouldn't use the hotel on a personal level, though didn't see the rooms, or breakfast, so it may be better for that.

Room Tip: Parking is not much fun, get clear instructions of how to get in, or you'll be going back and fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muncher5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Muncher5,

Many thanks and as a senior reviewer on TripAdvisor with a focus on restaurants and food I really appreciate you taking the time to highlight how you felt your meeting with us went. I have to say though that The Macdonald Hotel and Spa possesses probably the best bedroom stock in the city which of course you haven't seen yet. To that end I'd encourage you to return where I hope you will be able to witness an improvement in the areas that you mentioned and the chance to see what else we have to offer; you won't be disappointed I can assure you.

Kind regards and thank you once again

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Hotel and Spa Manchester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,215
    1,821
    906
    376
    234
See reviews for
521
2,455
228
1,261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (699)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here in Feb 2013 for 2 nights over a weekend.
Very nice room with amazingly big window giving a nice veiw across the city. We were very happy with it.

We did not need an iron or trouser press but these were noted as being provided but were not in the room and also the mini bar was empty. None of these bothered us but I mention for others information.

The only issue that did concern us was the sliding shower door that came off its tracks 3 times during our stay. This was quite heavy and could have been an issue for my wife had I not been around to help.

The heating to the room also broke during our stay however one call to the concierge and this was adjusted remotely.

I would actually rate the hotel as 'Good' however this is not an option on the scoring. The major downfall for the hotel was its bar service. On Friday evening we tried to get a drink and there was a full bar however only 1 member of staff. We managed to eventually get served but when returning for a second drink I stood at the bar for 30 minutes before we decided to go elsewhere. At the same time we were aware of tables around us who had ordered food and were either getting their meals delivered seperately or had been waiting upto an hour without explanation. For such a nice hotel I did not find this level of service acceptable and on this basis would choose to stay elsewhere on another occasion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear aaruck,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and as per my message to you please be assured that I am looking into the matters that you raised so that we can further improve on what we do.

I believe you're right in that it is the finer touches that make all the difference and looking after our guests on our lounge is part of what the team should always look to excel at. Our Bars Manager, Scott, is aware of this and is implementing improvements as I write.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Hotel and Spa Manchester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My friend surprised me with a weekend at the Macdonald so we could visit the Manchester Christmas markets in comfort.

We stayed in one of the panoramic suites on the 8th floor and I cannot explain how beautiful it was, the height of luxury. The bed was huge and incredibly comfortable, I didn't want to get out of it, the bathroom was also very spacious with a lovely big bathtub. In fact the room as a whole was huge.

The views were brilliant, being on the top floor we had a 180 view of Manchester which was lovely. The room had an ipod dock, a mini bar, a trouser press, complimentary toiletries, bath robes and slippers.

On one of the nights we ordered room service, which in comparison to other hotels I think had a lot more choice, we were able to order a steak at gone midnight along with the most delicious sweet potato fries. Portions weren't very big, and the price wasn't exactly cheap but that's to be expected with room service, and it was delicious so I'm not complaining!

we didn't venture into the spa, so I think that gives me an excuse to return to the hotel which is literally a stone throw away from Piccadilly station, very convenient!

overall great hotel, thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will consider the Macdonald chain for future trips.

Room Tip: Book a suite. Very luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xx_kimbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Kimbah,

Thanks so much for your kind review and of course we look forward to your return

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Hotel and Spa Manchester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed hear with my husband and son whilst we went shopping in Manchester. Location great, straight off Mancunion Way so easy car access and right next to Picadilly Train/Tram Station. Car park at the back which was very secure so no worries about leaving the car. Also if you walk to picadilly station there is a free bus service to the city center. The room was lovely and big (two double beds) and very large shower and bath. Even though we were next to a busy road juction there was very little traffic noise. Rang for room service on arrival and asked for some juice for my son whilst unpacking. Swift response and they also fetched a bowel of crisps and chocolate drops for snack because 'I'd mentioned a child and they thought he might like a snack', lovely touch. Restaurant was fabulous possibly the best meals we've had at Macdonald Hotels and we've stayed at a few now. Fetched colouring sheets and felt tips for my son which kept him happy. Highly recommend the Haggis starter. Breakfast was self service with a great choice. Also used the spa facilities, lovely and relaxing. Had a very nice Indian Head massage. Spa has a tranquilty suit which is complementary to guests but we didn't have time to use it. No pool though which is all that is missing. Check in and out was swift and staff even helped pack the car on leaving....lot's of shopping bags!!! Loved loved loved our stay will be going back soon.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor (think there are 8) and little noise from the city. Double double room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mrs Bond?

Many thanks for your really kind review it is appreciated and highlights just how much effort our team will go to to ensure our guests expectations are exceeded.

We'd be delighted to see you all back here soon and once again thank you for allowing our team to see the fruits of their labour.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Hotel and Spa Manchester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

we have stayed here on two occasions,both equally good,the spa is lovely and relaxing,as for the rooms they are very comfortable a lovely big bed and the bathroom has speakers so if you put on the music channel its great when getting ready to go out,the food in the restaurant was really tasty id say it was the best steak ive ever had,and in the morning we rang down and had our breakfast in our room for a small tray charge of £5 well worth it and again one of the nicest breakfasts ive had from a hotel.

Room Tip: higher rooms have better views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyG24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Emily,

Great Review Thank you! I know the team really appreciate guests feedback as it spurs them on to even greater performances so thanks for taking the time to highlight your satisfaction.

Many thanks again and we look forward to your return.

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Hotel and Spa Manchester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant hotel with pleasant staff. Room size average with twin beds and very clean.. Nice spacious bathroom.Stayed for two nights with a friend. Long walk into the city centre and bars but handy for the station.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pew70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Pew,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us it is appreciated and of course we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Hotel and Spa Manchester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The location of the hotel is round the corner from Piccadilly train station just a short walk. The hotel is quite big; looks grand from the outside so you can't miss it. Reception staff friendly, check in quick and easy. We stayed in a standard room which turned out to be quite spacious, room decor is modern but comfort is top notch, king size bed was comfy. En-suite bathroom had separate bath and double shower with speakers to play what was on tv. The little touches in the rooms added to the luxury of the hotel for example ipod dock, complimentary drinks and my favourite luxury built in ghd hair straightners in the wardrobe never experienced that before in a hotel but it is a genius idea for us ladies. Hotel also has a spa on the top floor but unfortunately didn't visit but hopefully will next time. We had a drink in the bar plesant surroundings but ended up having a meal in the centre and not at the hotel. We got a bargain on last minute at £50 for a night so got excellent value for money. Would definitly stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room with built in ghd hair straightners ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babyamy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Amy,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind words about our superb team, our services and magnificent rooms and also for highlighting the added value that we believe makes all the difference for our guests.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future many thanks once again

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Hotel and Spa Manchester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#35 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,389 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#18 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#42 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing