We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Ranked #53 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My friend surprised me with a weekend at the Macdonald so we could visit the Manchester Christmas markets in comfort.

We stayed in one of the panoramic suites on the 8th floor and I cannot explain how beautiful it was, the height of luxury. The bed was huge and incredibly comfortable, I didn't want to get out of it, the bathroom was also very spacious with a lovely big bathtub. In fact the room as a whole was huge.

The views were brilliant, being on the top floor we had a 180 view of Manchester which was lovely. The room had an ipod dock, a mini bar, a trouser press, complimentary toiletries, bath robes and slippers.

On one of the nights we ordered room service, which in comparison to other hotels I think had a lot more choice, we were able to order a steak at gone midnight along with the most delicious sweet potato fries. Portions weren't very big, and the price wasn't exactly cheap but that's to be expected with room service, and it was delicious so I'm not complaining!

we didn't venture into the spa, so I think that gives me an excuse to return to the hotel which is literally a stone throw away from Piccadilly station, very convenient!

overall great hotel, thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will consider the Macdonald chain for future trips.

Room Tip: Book a suite. Very luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xx_kimbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Kimbah,

Thanks so much for your kind review and of course we look forward to your return

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Hotel and Spa Manchester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,087 - 5,093 of 6,226 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed hear with my husband and son whilst we went shopping in Manchester. Location great, straight off Mancunion Way so easy car access and right next to Picadilly Train/Tram Station. Car park at the back which was very secure so no worries about leaving the car. Also if you walk to picadilly station there is a free bus service to the city center. The room was lovely and big (two double beds) and very large shower and bath. Even though we were next to a busy road juction there was very little traffic noise. Rang for room service on arrival and asked for some juice for my son whilst unpacking. Swift response and they also fetched a bowel of crisps and chocolate drops for snack because 'I'd mentioned a child and they thought he might like a snack', lovely touch. Restaurant was fabulous possibly the best meals we've had at Macdonald Hotels and we've stayed at a few now. Fetched colouring sheets and felt tips for my son which kept him happy. Highly recommend the Haggis starter. Breakfast was self service with a great choice. Also used the spa facilities, lovely and relaxing. Had a very nice Indian Head massage. Spa has a tranquilty suit which is complementary to guests but we didn't have time to use it. No pool though which is all that is missing. Check in and out was swift and staff even helped pack the car on leaving....lot's of shopping bags!!! Loved loved loved our stay will be going back soon.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor (think there are 8) and little noise from the city. Double double room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Mrs Bond?

Many thanks for your really kind review it is appreciated and highlights just how much effort our team will go to to ensure our guests expectations are exceeded.

We'd be delighted to see you all back here soon and once again thank you for allowing our team to see the fruits of their labour.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Hotel and Spa Manchester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

we have stayed here on two occasions,both equally good,the spa is lovely and relaxing,as for the rooms they are very comfortable a lovely big bed and the bathroom has speakers so if you put on the music channel its great when getting ready to go out,the food in the restaurant was really tasty id say it was the best steak ive ever had,and in the morning we rang down and had our breakfast in our room for a small tray charge of £5 well worth it and again one of the nicest breakfasts ive had from a hotel.

Room Tip: higher rooms have better views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyG24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Emily,

Great Review Thank you! I know the team really appreciate guests feedback as it spurs them on to even greater performances so thanks for taking the time to highlight your satisfaction.

Many thanks again and we look forward to your return.

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Hotel and Spa Manchester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant hotel with pleasant staff. Room size average with twin beds and very clean.. Nice spacious bathroom.Stayed for two nights with a friend. Long walk into the city centre and bars but handy for the station.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pew70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Pew,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us it is appreciated and of course we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Hotel and Spa Manchester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The location of the hotel is round the corner from Piccadilly train station just a short walk. The hotel is quite big; looks grand from the outside so you can't miss it. Reception staff friendly, check in quick and easy. We stayed in a standard room which turned out to be quite spacious, room decor is modern but comfort is top notch, king size bed was comfy. En-suite bathroom had separate bath and double shower with speakers to play what was on tv. The little touches in the rooms added to the luxury of the hotel for example ipod dock, complimentary drinks and my favourite luxury built in ghd hair straightners in the wardrobe never experienced that before in a hotel but it is a genius idea for us ladies. Hotel also has a spa on the top floor but unfortunately didn't visit but hopefully will next time. We had a drink in the bar plesant surroundings but ended up having a meal in the centre and not at the hotel. We got a bargain on last minute at £50 for a night so got excellent value for money. Would definitly stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room with built in ghd hair straightners ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babyamy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Amy,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind words about our superb team, our services and magnificent rooms and also for highlighting the added value that we believe makes all the difference for our guests.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future many thanks once again

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Hotel and Spa Manchester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday night after getting a pretty good deal.
We noticed that the car parking was quite expensive considering the location. Hotels on deans hate charge the same price and are more central. We parked on the NCP car park adjacent to the hotel car park and this was £11.50 cheaper for 24 hours. The car park is also quite awkward to find if you don't know the streets.

Upon arrival staff were very friendly and helpful when our room key wouldn't work.
There are only 2 lifts which are very slow. We took the stairs to floor 5 and after floor 2 the floor is disgustingly dirty, clumps of thick dust on the steps and grippers missing. Really bad!! We did tell reception in check out.

Room was lovely, we booked a superior room but got a city view room. Not much of a view really so wouldn't pay extra. Room lovely and warm on a cold night. Tv a bit far away from bed so hard to read text or the guide. Everything you need and plenty of space. Great shower and lovely big bath. Bed super comfy although pillows were a bit soft and small.

We pre booked breakfast and the food was just gorgeous, best sausages I've had for a while, food not fatty or greasy and great choice. Also breakfast until 12noon on Sundays!!!

Only drawback was the service. Hostess was lovely but our waitress was useless, she didn't utter one word. We ordered one tea and one coffee as did the couple behind us. She brought out two coffees then two teas 5 minutes later. Got fed up of waiting for milk and found it myself, table was covered in someone else's crumbs and we had to swap all our cutlery and cups as they were dirty. She pretty much threw our toast rack across our table and we lost 2 slices and didn't clear away our plates so we could make room despite being asked. This made us very uncomfortable and if staying here again would put me off using the restaurant both evening and breakfast.

Location pretty good, we walked into town during day and I even managed the walk to king street in 4 inch heels ok. Taxi back cost £4.80 from King Street. Not really city centre but good location.

Would stay here again but wouldn't use restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louiangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Louiangel,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us and please be assured that I have already spoken with the team to ensure that we are pristine in all areas and ensuring that our team interact with every guest making their stay as pleasant as possible.

We look forward to your return and thank you once again for taking the time to comment about your time with us.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Hotel and Spa Manchester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed at the hotel on the 23rd & 24th of Feb,Carpark is a rip off £17.50 a night!. Room was very dirty pictures of 1 inch deep dust attached. £19.50 for cold badly prepared breakfast food all plates cutlery needed a good wash instead of running unde tap.The SPA is a joke you would be better sitting in your kitchen with kettle steam,spa area smelt steam room did not work everything just felt dirty and not working properly.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Robo120,

Thanks for taking the time to review us and for your comments. I've asked via a message for a little further detail about your stay so that I can understand it some more.

I look forward to hearing from you very soon and I'm sorry that we've not even matched your expectations nevermind exceeded them on this occasion.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Hotel and Spa Manchester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#38 of 120 in Manchester
2,625 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,252 reviews
0.7 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 120 in Manchester
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#18 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#29 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $94 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing