We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Ranked #46 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here overnight for a shopping trip to Manchester. The staff were some of the friendliest we have ever encountered. Lovely room with a very comfortable king sized bed, fantastic shower and delicious breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dazzlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Dazzlers,

Many thanks our strength is always our great team and their friendliness and service delivery so I really appreciate you telling others about that aspect in particular.

That said we are very lucky to be able to offer fab rooms, with great views all in an ideal position for visiting the City.

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Hotel and Spa Manchester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,188
    1,793
    883
    368
    226
See reviews for
512
2,424
222
1,228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, staff were friendly helpful & professional. Rooms were fantastic, big and spacious, clean with great amenities. Hotel 2 mins from train station and 10 to high street. Would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snibbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Snibbug,

Thanks so much for your very kind review and I agree our rooms are very special and we're ideally placed as a great hotel immediately outside Piccadilly station within easy reach of central Cottonopolis.

Kind regards and of course we look forward to your return.

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Hotel and Spa Manchester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed overnight on Valentine's Day and had the Valentine dinner menu.

We got a lovely welcome at reception and our room was excellent.

Dinner was steak, which was truly superb, although the service was a bit slow. Breakfast likewise was excellent and the variety of food exceptional.

In fact the only thing that was a bit of a pain was that one lift was out of order and we had to wait. We were on a high floor otherwise we would have used the stairs.

All in all though very enjoyable - all the staff we saw were friendly and if you're in Manchester this is one to look at.

Room Tip: We had a high floor - didn't have any noise problems at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollands09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager ., General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Hoolands09,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us and for all the nice things you have said about our team in making your stay with us so special and memorable. Please be assured that for where you felt the experience wasn't seemless we are working hard on improving it so that on your next visit you'll be just as kind with your comments.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Hotel and Spa Manchester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable, though the shower needed some attention. The sound-proofing is very efficient, and the facilities are excellent. The location is perfect for all the city centre amenities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scouseduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Sue O,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind words. I do hope that the matter with the shower didn't interupt your stay too much as I agree our rooms are outstanding and feature very highly as against the rest of the room stock in Manchester. I hope you tried our Restaurant for Dinner and Breakfast as they are excellent also.

Many thanks also for telling others about just how good our location is for 'anything and all' in the City Centre.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Hotel and Spa Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stay here a couple of month ago and did not expect much to be honest as I had never stayed with this hotel chain before.

The good
Very modern and clean rooms, outstanding value for money.
Great staff in the main bar, very service oriented.
Tasty and freshly cooked breakfast. Nice to see that focus is on British food.
Good location, walking distance to the train station.

The bad
Can't think of anything, really!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear CJF,

What a lovely review thank you! I know the team work really hard on planning for a faultless stay for guests and events as we have an excellent hotel with superb facilities that we want to show off.

We look forward to your return and the opportunity to deliver an even better stay so that we get that 5 star rating we are always looking for.

Thank you once again and please feel free to make contact with me direct so that I can look after your booking personally.

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Hotel and Spa, Manchester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner for 2 nights. We had a city view room and king size bed. The level of service throughout our stay was excellent.. The room and bathroom were exceptionally clean and the view fantastic.. The hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk from the train station. On a downside the hotel has 2 lifts serving the bedrooms on 8 floors.. Unfortunately one of them was out of order which meant delays .. Engineers were on site quickly but the lift wasn't repaired during our stay. The docking station in our room didn't work when we arrived but the staff were quick to respond and within the hour it had been repaired.. Very impressed!.. Drinks in the bar like any other hotel were very expensive and the toilets for the bar guests are on the 2nd floor?... There is lots of information on things to do in Manchester and the transport links are great. I also used the Spa and had the Harmony package back massage and fascial £55 for 1 hour and lunch included.. Great value for money and Laura really looked after me.. We will definately be staying here again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Owl43,

..... And a really nice review to read. Great to know that inspite of a couple of hitches the team still delivered a first rate stay for you and pleased be assured that I will pass on your thanks to her about your Spa treatments.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Hotel and Spa, Manchester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in February while on a short break in Manchester. The hotel room had a lovely bathroom with a massive walk in shower. The bed was huge and very comfortable. They was plenty of wardrobe space, a hair dryer, ironing board and iron are provided and tea and coffee replenished regularly. The hotel is just across the road from Piccadilly Train Station and a ten min walk from the city centre. China Town, Canal Street and the Arndale Centre are all within walking distance too. Overall a comfortable hotel, ideally located :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear HJBW,

Many thanks for staying with us and also for reviewing us so kindly; it is appreciated and spurs our great team onto delivering consistently memorable stays for all of our guests.

Our rooms are fab I know but it is also the interaction of staff and the delivery of the finer points that always makes the differerence and I'm so pleased that in the main you have highlighted that we achieved both.

The challenge for us for your next stay is to delight you in all areas so that we get an improved rating so please feel free to make contact with myself in advance if you would like any special arrangements made.

Thank you once again and I look forward to your return.

Paul Bayliss MBE
General Manager
The Macdonald Hotel and Spa Manchester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.6 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#32 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#18 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#42 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing