We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Ranked #52 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My fiance booked a room here, dinner bed and breakfast for my birthday. We stayed in one of the city view rooms, with a window the length of the room! Check in was smooth and quick. One of the lifts was out of order so there was quite a wait for the one working lift. The second was fxed during our stay. The sound insulation was great could hardly hear the traffic outside. Huge room, huge bed, huge bathroom! Our evening meal was nice, we were seated at a table by the window. I do feel the waitress was slightly stretched and did need some help but it wasn't always on hand! Although she did do a great job in remembering all the specials! Will definately be returning!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Srvs-Mgr, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, I apologise for the inconvenience caused by one of our lifts being out of order. We have many offers throughout the year, and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Jennifer Woolley
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,196 - 5,202 of 6,262 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

My fiancée booked a spa package at this hotel for my birthday and I was very pleased with it. The deal included a 1 night stay, 3 course dinner, breakfast buffet and a choice of 2 treatments. The spa was lovely, modern and well maintained, but it was a shame there wasn't a pool.

We both had a combined treatment of back neck and shoulder massage and a mini facial lasting an hour in total and they accommodated us both in the same treatment room. The spa staff were very informative, professional and friendly and the treatments were fantastic and so relaxing.

Our room was huge! The bathroom had a separate bath and large shower and there were two sinks side by side and two large mirrors. In the room there was a queen size and very comfortable bed, a large amount of storage, a decent sized flat screen tv, brew facilities, iron, ironing board and hairdryer. It was very simply decorated in a modern and fairly masculine style. I had the best nights sleep that I have ever had in a hotel and wasn't disturbed once.

We ate at the steak restaurant and the menu options we were entitled to under the offer we booked were quite limited, but the food was very nice. The breakfast buffet was probably the best and most varied I have ever had.

The service throughout our short stay was faultless, the package we booked was great value and the hotel really exceeded expectations. I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emily2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Srvs-Mgr, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback with everyone, we appreciate your time. I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and that you found our facilities, service, and team members to be excellent. I really hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Woolley
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

A lovely hotel. Bit pricey but you usually get what you pay for. Bed was soo comfortable. Shower big enough for two. Super.
If trip advisor keep demanding more characters I won't bother writing any reviews

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Srvs-Mgr, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear GarethJ, thank you for your review it was a pleasure to read your comments about our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Woolley
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Came to MacDonald for a family birthday party we held there.
It's a decent and well kept city hotel. The vibe is very vanilla - good for conferences and work trips if you're in the city for a short stay.
Very near Piccadilly train station, a ten minute walk into the city centre.
Great breakfasts.
Bar is OK but lacks character.
Staff were friendly and helpful overall.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ldn_Global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Srvs-Mgr, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I enjoyed hearing all about your experience and your lovely comments about our staff. I hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Woolley
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is a 5 mins walk from railway station, staff are helpful and friendly, our room had a city view as was quite large and well equipped with tea, coffee, safe & fridge. Our deal included evening meal, staff did not quite get their heads around the allowance and paying a supplement for items off the normal menu, but food was excellent.
Hotel is a little out of the way, but if you walk back to the station there is a free bus service that takes you into the town, cheaper than a taxi !
Only down dude is that The hotel does not have free Wifi instead it has a BT hotspot to connect to.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DucatiKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Srvs-Mgr, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope you choose to visit again the the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Woolley
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We selected this hotel because of its proximity to Piccadilly
railway station, it is a very short distance from the southern
exit. Once registered we were delighted with our 5th floor
room which was spacious, modern and featured panoramic
windows, a supremely comfortable king size bed and one
of the best hotel bathrooms we have experienced.
Throughout our two night stay the staff could not have
been more helpful, the only negatives being one of the
two lifts was out of order and the breakfast option
somewhat expensive. Other than that a good choice
for a Mancunian stay. We will return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philcam45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Srvs-Mgr, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear Philcam45, I am delighted to read about your experience with us and it will be a pleasure sharing your comments with our team. I would like to apologise for one of our lifts being temporarily out of order, I can assure you they are now in full working order. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Woolley
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Had an executive room very spacious and great city rooms. Was travelling by train only 5 minute walk. Only disappointment residents bar not open on return from night out. Breakfast great choice and hotel well priced for city centre location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lottiesmunmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Srvs-Mgr, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you very much for your review, I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the convenience of our location. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Woolley
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#39 of 121 in Manchester
2,654 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,879 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#18 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Family Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#28 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $103 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing