We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$206
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$162
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$161
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$732
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$129
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Midland(Manchester)
$220
$161
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$101
$87
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (4,477)
Filter reviews
4,477 results
Traveler rating
2,301
1,528
462
133
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,301
1,528
462
133
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treewarm cookiescity cafetrain stationon arrivalfree wificanal streetmanchester piccadillyexcellent hotelmodern hotelmini barbusiness triphotel barbreakfast was excellentcentral locationsaturday nightstayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
3,904 - 3,909 of 4,477 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2010

We stayed at City Inn for 2 nights whilst in Manchester for the last football game of the season. We checked in on Saturday afternoon. The hotel lobby is light and airy with a relaxed atmosphere. We had one of the Club rooms on the 5th floor which was very comfortable and spotless with great views. On the Sunday morning, the hotel was very busy and we had to wait to go in for breakfast so I recommend that anyone staying at a weekend should go down for breakfast early. However it is worth the wait. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahEBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Fantastic value for such a top quality hotel in central manchester. We stayed recently because it was highly recommended on trip advisor and we were not disappointed.
Rooms were modern and funky with apple mac tv and wide range of channels including sky sports.
Staff were really professional and friendly.
We could have stayed in Hilton but saved over 50 pounds which allowed us to buy cocktails and taxi to and from Hilton cloud 23 bar

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeandpaulbusketts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Fab location for Manchester city centre. Hotel very modern, clean & comfortable. Cocktails in the bar come highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigger-2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

This was my first time to stay at the City Inn Manchester, and I was not disappointed. It is an ideal hotel for a short city break especially if travelling to Manchester via Piccadilly railway station. The fare from the airport was £3.80 peak and £3.20 off peak by train and the journey non stop took about 15/20mins. Trains left every 10/15 mins.

On arrival in Manchester, I actually walked past the hotel, and ended up at Piccadilly Gardens as it is easy to miss. The hotel is situated just a 2 minute walk on the opposite side of the street from the station, with the main entrance on a side street. At reception I was met by very pleasant staff who made every effort to make a room available before the stated check in time.

The room itself was very clean, comfortable, and is ideal for a business visit or short stay. All mod-cons are available including free WiFi, free use of combined computer/TV, small desk, room safe, Tea/Coffee making facilities, Mini Bar and ironing board and iron. While it wasn't the biggest room in the world, its was cosy. Air-con worked fine and a small window opened if necessary. No noise problems were encountered and a comfortable nights sleep was had. Top marks have to go to the spotless shower room. Checking out again was a pleasure and as my flight was late in the evening, the left luggage facility at the Hotel was very welcome, especially with the hotel's proximity to the station.

Location-wise the hotel is ideal for any visit, about 10 mins walk to the Arndale shopping centre, close enough to the various Theatres and venues. Nearest Tram station is either Piccadilly Station or Piccadilly Gardens or there is the taxi rank at the train station. If you enjoy shopping, a trip to the Trafford Centre is a must, approx 25 mins away on the X50 bus which leaves Piccadilly gardens every half hour. I will be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chico_Drogheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Stayed here last night on business with colleagues staying both here and at another hotel over the road and boy am I glad I plumped for this one!
Service was very good from checking in to leaving this morning. The food served to us all last night was perfect and the choice of drinks was excellent.
Bedroom was clean and comfy and I had a perfect night sleep. It was a real pleasure to stay here again and I will definately be coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dingoberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews