We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$160
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Midland(Manchester)
$209
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$75
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$146
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$149
$124
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$99
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (4,481)
Filter reviews
4,481 results
Traveler rating
2,303
1,529
462
133
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,303
1,529
462
133
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treewarm cookiescity cafetrain stationon arrivalfree wificanal streetmanchester piccadillyexcellent hotelmodern hotelmini barbusiness triphotel barbreakfast was excellentcentral locationsaturday nightstayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
3,917 - 3,922 of 4,481 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights last week on a business trip. I cannot fault a single thing. It was a great location, 2 mins walk from the station and the staff were attentive, helpful and courteous at all times.
Spotlessly clean, food was good quality and always served with a smile.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidimauve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

I payed for my mum and dad to stay here after attending dancing on ice tour on 23/04/10. It was a surprise for her 50th birthday. After emailing the hotel to enquire if we could make further arrangements when they got there with regards to drinks, cake, balloons etc, they emailed straight back and advised they would make all necessary arrangements. They were amazing. My mum and dad were treated like royalty. The room was outstanding, the staff were brillant and the food was superb. Phillipa, Stewart you did yourselves proud and my mum was overwhelmed with what you did for her. Thank you so much and we will definitley stay at your hotel again

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyjane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Visited Manchester on 16th April and stayed for two nights and stayed at the City Inn. What can i say..its very luxurious! On entering you are met by a beautiful entrance hall with many staff there to welcome you. Check in was easy and they were very helpful. I had opted to have breakfast each day and this was just amazing. Everything you could think of to eat and every taste catered for. The room was very clean and was in neutral tones and was lovely. Had an i-mac entertainment system which allowed you free access to the internet as well as other entertainment on the system. Hotel also has an excellent collection of cds and dvds which can be used. Would highly recommend the City Inn for a stay if you are looking for a little bit of luxury and class.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJD2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Stayed here mis march, got a great deal online, room only.
Check in was smooth and effiecient, however they did loose me a bit with all the information they gave me.

Room - everything you would expect from a modern city centre hotel, brightly decorated, clean and comfortable with climate control.

A couple of niggles were that the shower door did not close properley and also the shower tap on the wall used to regulate the temperature kept falling off and was quite heavy so could do some damage.

I meant to mention on check out but forgot to do so, minor niggles as with all hotels their are the odd maintenance issue,

We have stayed in many hotels in manchester and plan on staying here again.

We did not sample the restaurant or bars but will do so next time we stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wtaylor62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

Very, very nice. Modern, room & bath room were very clean, bed was comfortable, staff was helpful, City Café restaurant very good. Very conveniently located, near Picadilly station with metro connection. Great value. Will definitely stay there on return to Manchester.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msoz45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews