We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #19 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2010

My second visit. My husband took me for my birthday.
The staff are very attentive. The rooms are excellent.
Love the apple mac....
Breakfast.. my goodness. Just perfect.
The waiting on staff are just lovely.
This hotel deserves its reputation.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna-Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,151)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,660 - 3,666 of 4,151 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2010

Myself and my partner stayed at the City Inn for 2 nights over a Saturday and Sunday.

We drove to the hotel and it was very easy to find the NCP car park-its just behind the hotel and is £10.20 for 24hrs with hotel discount.

The hotel reception is very modern and clean and check in was really quick with
friendly reception staff.

The room was bigger than expected,nice big bed and very modern.
Loved the White Company products in the bathroom! Again clean and modern with
great power shower.

Best part of the room had to be the imac computer which doubled as the in room
tv! Sky TV and free internet was a great touch.

Had a cocktail in the hotel lounge before heading out to the bars and the service was
great with the prices similar to bars and clubs.

Had breakfast both days-full english was lovely and the staff were really nice,effeicent
and chatty.

Location was great- around a 10-15 min walk to the Arndale shopping centre and 15-20min
drive to the Trafford Centre.

Next time i am in Manchester this is where i will stay and if in any other city i will look for
a City Inn first!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L_A_B_W21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Had a great stay here. The room was clean well spaced and tidy. Custom pillows are available on request!! The iMac entertainment system is fantastic. The restaurant food is superb And the bar is cool with an excellent singer/ guitarist on Friday nights.

Only gripe was a bigger breakfast would have been nice

Well done!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simonlovestuskerbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

City Inn never fails to deliver! Arrived at 9.30 a.m. and was told check in wasn't until 3 p.m., the joys of an early flight. As I was travelling with my father, and had a busy schedule that day, I enquired if it was possible to get a room earlier than had been mentioned. No problem! By 11.50 we were in our room. As I said in a previous review of this Hotel, its the little things that make a big difference. Well done to the staff and continue the good work!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigPauly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

We stayed here for one night at the end of October. The location is excellent, opposite Piccadilly train station and about 10-15 minutes from the bus station. Very handy for the main shopping area and also for the Northern Quarter where there are many bars and vintage shops. We were not eating dinner in the hotel, but were within walking distance from Chinatown with plenty of restaurants to choose from. The room was very big and clean, we faced to the back of the hotel so there was no noise from outside. I can't fault the rooms at all, and the mac is an excellent touch. The bathroom was spotless with plenty of towels and toiletries provided. We did not have any dealings with the staff other than to check in and out which was quick and easy. The service in the bar on the Saturday night could have been quicker but as it was Saturday night this probably couldn't have been avoided. The breakfast on Sunday morning was excellent, the only thing i would say is if you are trying to keep to a schedule, allow an extra half hour or so as it is extremely busy, however there is tea/coffee/pastries available while waiting and there is an order system that ensures you are seated in order of when you arrived. The breakfast itself cannot be faulted, with both buffet option and a la carte.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, and look forward to staying there when i return to Manchester.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank misstee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

We have just returned from a two day break in this hotel and I couldn't fault anything. Check in was fast and easy, room spotless with high quality fixtures and fittings. All the staff on reception were very helpful and friendly, staff in the restaurant at breakfast were lovely and chatty. The next time we are in manchester, we will stay in this hotel, loved it!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airfield65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Stayed here for the weekend last week, had a lovely stay, I was a little nervous booking before hand as the hotel website leaves a lot to be desired, and doesnt give too much information. There was no need to worry the hotel is fab, the staff are lovely, the hotel was running special offers the weekend we were there such as 2 4 1 coctails in the bars, 2 4 1 a la carte dinner etc, which made eatingand drinking in the hotel very reasonable.

the only gripe i would have is the waiting staff in the main restaurant for dinner. they were quite rude, all huddled together in the centre of the room and basically ignoring the diners. we only wanted to have a main course, with a glass of wine, however spare cutlery and glasses were left on the table, which i had to ask to be removed. also when we asked for the bill and informed the waitress we had the 2 4 1 voucher for dinner she gave us an impatient sigh and said, oh ill have to do you up a different receipt.

as soon as the duty manager arrived, it was unreal the way they perked up, stopped chatting and decided to actually tend to the diners.

the experience wouldnt put me off staying in the hotel again as every other member of staff, including the breakfast staff were lovely, but i have docked the review 1 star.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynch6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 119 in Manchester
5,055 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#36 of 119 in Manchester
2,857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 119 in Manchester
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $114 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing