We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not one fault !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not one fault !”
Reviewed April 22, 2009

Trendy hotel in a good location at a really great price, could not ask for more.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTWand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,053
    1,360
    414
    115
    42
See reviews for
360
1,553
323
1,046
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
midlands
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2009

having previously stopped at this particular city inn a year ago i was interested to see if the quality was still of a high standard, i need not have worried, it was as perfect as i remembered, everything is just fab, the rooms, the staff, the food, i dont think you could find anything wrong with this hotel and if you did any problem would be sorted immediately as nothing seems too much trouble, i have read a previous reveiw of someone who preferred the macdonald hotel, well i stayed there in january and wouldnt recommend it to anyone, yes the rooms are bigger, but very dark and unless you have superman vision you cant see the television while in bed!! also commenting on the breakfast, the macdonalds was probably the most disgusting thing i have ever eaten, the quality of the ingredients was awful,you may be able to eat as much cooked breakfast as you like, but you really wouldnt want to!! however the city inn delivers high quality foods,you really wont be disappointed, also car park is 2 minute walk away literally, you will have a fantastic time and i will definately be returning again later this year

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baggiebirdMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sligo, ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

Gorgeous hotel and great value. Brilliant location with train tram and shops on the doorstep. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathysligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

Just got home from an overnight stay at the City Inn and I am still shaking my head in disbelief at what great value this hotel is. Right next to an NCP car park, lovely foyer, great staff who couldn't do enough to help us, a neutral coloured, easy on the eye room, not massive, but absolutely large enough for a night or two, peaceful - didn't hear one noise all night, on a Friday night in a city ! Great shower, lovely selection for breakfast - I ate light but my husband had scrambled eggs and Loch Fyne smoked salmon, so clean , so light and so CHEAP !! we are so used to be ripped off in this country that I kept wondering what the catch was. There isn't one. if these guys keep on developing the City Inns in other cities then I just hope they can keep the prices as low everywhere. We will stay again, and will seek them out elsewhere. What I liked is that they don't pretend to be anything else other than a modern, contemporary hotel serving customers who just want to relax and eat unpretentious food at a fair price.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

I stayed in this hotel over the Easter weekend. I normally stay in the McDonald Hotel but the City Inn had a good deal so I decided to give it a try.

There were plenty of good points; the staff were very polite, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the free internet access in the room a bonus, there was an excellent range of tv channels available, and the mini bar was fully stocked - a few things weren't to my personal liking.

1. The rooms were very small - much smaller that the equivilant room sizes in the similarly priced McDonald Hotel.

2. Because the IMac is a PC and TV in one, the TV screen size was pretty small - other new 4* hotels have larger flatscreen tvs on the wall.

3. The cooked breakfast was not buffet style. Instead you had to give the waiter your order and I found the portion sizes meager.

All in all I would stay again for the price I paid - but not the usual £130 + per room as I think that's a little dear for what's on offer.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalitisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Following my recent stay, the staff are fantastic nothing was too much for them. The room was very comfortable, white crisp linen, fluffy towel, free internet and a well stocked bar. I have stayed in numerous City Inns in the UK and have never been disappointed.
Well done too City Inn Manachester

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BasilBlanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2009

Planned weekend away to MEN venue originally booked with another hotel but having read customer reviews decided to change to the city inn. What a good move. Even though bit more expensive than original hotel well worth the money. From the moment we arrived to check in (3 hours early but no problem) to the moment we left we were made to feel as if we were the only people in the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble even when we were trying to enquire about our way round manchester. We were offered a disabled room that was ready and told if we did not want it to ring down and let them know but it was offered as had the extra space. The room was lovely very clean and very contempory. That evening we ate in the restaurant. The staff were excellent as was the food. The surroundings also were lovely. We went to the concert at the MEN (very well placed just a quick tram ride away) then had a late night drink in the bar. Again the staff were excellent - very professional and friendly nothing too much trouble. The best was then to come - breakfast. Wonderful is all I will say you need to try it to appreciate it. We then left our luggage with the hotel while we enjoyed the day in manchester.Collected luggage and 2 minutes walk to piccadilly for our train. My husband and myself have not had a break for many years and the hotel was the icing on the cake. When we go back to manchester we will stay there anything else would be second best no wonder Tina Turners backing group and dancers were staying there.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank district9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,810 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing